Season of Change

The things I used to like, I don’t like any more,
I want a lot of other things I’ve never had before,
It’s just like my mamma says, I sit around and mourn
Pretending that I am so wonderful and knowing I’m adored

I’m as restless as a willow in a windstorm,
I’m as jumpy as a puppet on a string,
I’d say that I had spring fever,
But I know it isn’t spring.

Nina Simone, It Might as Well Be Spring, 1945

Spring has always been touted as the season of change. It is, after all, the transition from winter to summer, a rebirth, so to speak. I am predisposed to thinking that way as my birthday falls therein. As such, it is my favourite season. Now that’s not say I don’t like the other seasons, I do. They all have their own merits. There is no bad season, in my books. Let’s face it, I like the change from one to the other.

Spring is about change and I don’t think it is wrong to embrace it that way, to use it as a period of reinvention. Why not? A new year is upon us, a slate scrubbed clean by a harsh winter. All the dirt and dust washed away. We are creatures of change whether we accept it or not.

In fact, it can be argued that by not changing, we become dinosaurs and look what happened to them. Then again, changing just for the sake of change is not always wise. Like everything in life, food, alcohol, exercise etc, everything in moderation. It is a fine line we tread.

So, spring is here and it is a time of change for me. I have emerged from the darkness of winter bearing a few scars and a large hole in my life. Those will heal… with time, the best I can do is keep my eyes ahead, but not too far, and not down or back. There are good things on the horizon for my writing and at home.

Changes.

I am reminded of this on my drive into work today. Q107 was on the radio, as always. But today there was change. John Derringer announced that they would be changing the flavour of the show. If you don’t know Q107, for years they have been a “classic rock” station playing hits from the 60’s to the early 90’s.

To be truthful, while I love classic rock, my wife and I mostly listen because of the hosts. Their chemistry, the Last Word, and their just plain realness. Yes, I know that’s not a word. I’m a writer, I’m allowed to bend the rules on occasion. Realness, they aren’t cartoonish, or shock jocks, they are real people and that carries over the air.

Actually, there was a lot of music Q107 played that I didn’t like. Too much Zepplin. Sorry, I do like Led Zepplin, but like all other groups, not all of their stuff was gold. Nirvana. Never liked ‘em, don’t consider them “classic rock”. They are grunge at it’s finest. I’m just not much of a grunge fan.

But, music is different to everyone. We all have different tastes because we all come from different melting pots. I try to like all music. I give it all a chance. That said, my tastes tend to lean more towards the folk end of the spectrum. I grew up with Jimmy Buffett, John Prine, The Band, The Guess Who, Eagles, CCR etc.

Well, this announcement set fire to the Twitter verse and Facebook. Loud dinosaurs jumping off the bandwagon left right and center. Apparently change is scary to some dinosaurs… errr… fine people. But had they chosen to listen, they would have heard that the music Q107 was expanding to was along the lines of The Sheepdogs and The Black Keys. Both bands could easily be mistaken for group straight out of the 70’s.

No, Nirvana and Stone Temple Pilots aren’t what I would consider “classic rock” and I hope bands like that are kept to  a minimum exposure, but Q107 isn’t my station. I didn’t create it for me and not everyone likes exactly what I like. Sure there will be music I don’t care for, but the essence of the station has remained the same. They just expanded it.

I grew up listening to music all the time. There wasn’t a moment when the radio wasn’t on. My parents saw meaning in songs. They felt the impact and tried to share that with us kids. My daughters inherited that “ear” and are constantly singing even when they think we can’t hear. Their tastes are a blend of alternative (thanks to their mom), and folk, no mainstream for them. They are old souls like their dad. It is safe to say that music infuses all aspects of my life from inspiring my writing to setting a mood and even to traveling back in time, I appreciate when it is handled with respect.

To John, Ryan, Maureen and Johnny Garboo, Joanne and Kim et al, keep up the good work and the respect with which you go about things. We will keep listening, spring, summer, winter and fall.

And to all of you, may your changes (large or small) bring you not happiness but contentment and excitement.

What is your “go to song” that lifts you up, that drags you onto the dance floor or makes you need to crank the stereo up?

About Dale Long

Writing ambushed me from the shadows. At first I pushed it aside as nonsense, but luckily my wife and two girls saw the potential. Since then I have had an article published by Metroland, placed as runner-up and in the top ten in humour writing contests and various other contests. The icing on the cake was placing as runner-up in the WCDR's Wicked Words contest (130 entries) and having my entry published in the contests anthology of the same name. My entry was an exerpt from my upcoming novel, Echoes.
This entry was posted in The Word According to Dad. and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Season of Change

  1. Anonymous says:

    Mine would be anything Queen but I must say my all time favorite song is “American Pie”. No matter where I am I will sing along and remember times in my parents house. Love that song

    • Dale Long says:

      American Pie is a song that has a huge love/hate following. But, it is one song I think everyone knows at least part of the lyrics to.
      I like it even if I think it runs a tad long. And there is no denying the sentiment behind it.
      Great choice, Somey! I can call you Somey, right? ;)

  2. Dave Jones says:

    Well, I love the chemistry between John and Auntie Mo and was just recently thinking how I wish the hosts of the morning show I listen to, had that chemistry (or any chemistry, really). What about Q107, you ask? Well, I quit listening because I couldn’t stand listening to Pink Floyd one more time and they seemed to play it hourly! Also Ryan Parker is an enormous doofus. Anyway, glad they will play more Sheepdogs and Black Keys. (If you want a thrill- check out the video for the Black key’s song, “Howlin’ For You.)

    Oh yeah; my current go to: Africa by Toto.

    • Dale Long says:

      That’s a great song! It’s on my playlist for Appetites.
      Whitehorse’s Devil’s Got a Gun is a good one too.

      Oooo.. Africa by Toto is a good song too. It’s funny how our “go to” songs actually change, isn’t it?

      There’s that word again… change. ;)

  3. Q107 – wow, that brings back memories… as does John Derringer’s name. I haven’t lived close enough to listen to the Q for decades but, back when I did, it wasn’t a classic rock station, it was a harbinger of new rock music. I’m glad that it’s still around, and still changing, and that people like you are still listening. Nice post.

    • Dale Long says:

      I remember that, Cathy. I wasn’t into quite that heavy rock. At the time, I was hooked on Buddy Holly, Billy Joel, Dire Straits at the time. Just cutting my teeth, so to speak.
      Remember when Quiet Riot, White Snake, AC/DC, KISS, and Iron Maiden were considered “Heavy Metal”? ;)

Leave a Reply

