Echoes

    Echoes is the journal of John Pearce, as he recalls and records the fateful summer of 1969, the year he and a group of close friends from university travelled through Europe, following in the footsteps of Mary and Percy Shelley, Lord Byron and their group of 19th century creative intellectuals. 

    Much of John Pearce’s young life was spent, not on the ball field or in the playground, but on an operating table as his father experimented with brain mapping in a race against the clock to save his youngest son, the four-year-old Paul, from a brain tumour. 

     As this story begins, the present-day John not only carries around with him a head full of errant synapses, the by-product of his father’s experiments, but a heart burdened with guilt for having failed his brother. That same heart is now pledged to Mary Godfrey, his closest companion from childhood.  Unfortunately Mary’s heart isn’t similarly inclined, a state of affairs that John is convinced he can change. 

    For John this trip turns out to be a lesson in perceived reality as the events of the summer of 1816 too closely parallel those of modern day 1969. John stands to lose more than just his friends – his sanity also hangs in the balance as time overlaps and the ghosts of Mary Shelley and her circle of writers dog his footsteps while a Byronic vampire torments his existence. 

About Dale Long

Writing ambushed me from the shadows. At first I pushed it aside as nonsense, but luckily my wife and two girls saw the potential. Since then I have had an article published by Metroland, placed as runner-up and in the top ten in humour writing contests and various other contests. The icing on the cake was placing as runner-up in the WCDR's Wicked Words contest (130 entries) and having my entry published in the contests anthology of the same name. My entry was an exerpt from my upcoming novel, Echoes.
This entry was posted in Writing News and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Echoes

  1. Soul says:

    Okay, I would buy this book in a heartbeat just from this description. Where in the world did you get this idea?!?

  2. inkstr0kes says:

    Thanks Aaron! Believe it or not, it stemmed from an assignment in my first Creative Writing course. We were instructed to do a book report but to be creative about it.

    I chose Frankenstein and my spin on it was to write it from the point of view of Lord Byron recieving the very first copy to critique. The more I researched Mary Shelley and Lord Byron the more I got sucked in.

    The actual book report became too big to cram into 400 words so I scrapped it and did a more traditional style report. Not one of my better marks in that class, but the idea stuck with me, haunted me, so to speak.

    It took a second creative writing class and ultimately, ‘A Novel Approach’ workshop enabled me to put a voice to my characters and polish it up.

  3. havenofsouls says:

    Wow. I’ve got to say, the spin you’ve put on this is extremely creative.

  4. Pete says:

    Wow. I’m thoroughly intrigued
    I would have asked where such an idea had sprung from… but then Aaron went and asked first 🙂
    Looking forward to reading how it all unfolds 🙂

    • inkstr0kes says:

      Pete, that is the most asked question, quickly followed by ‘what’s it about’ to which my answer is still way too long winded. I’m just happy that it is interesting enough for people to ask. That’s my most nagging fear is that it is too obscure a concept. Appetites is more straight forward.

Leave a Reply

