Cutting Room Floor

I find it funny how a piece of writing, a scene, can speak to me so loudly, seem to fit so nicely, at the time it’s written and yet it has now found the cutting room floor.

Scenes shift and sometimes the choice has to be made, but I’ll tell you, it’s a hard thing to do. It was an emotional piece but ultimately, I had to accept it did very little for the story. Plus, I had to change the order of a few scenes and it just didn’t fit anymore.

R.I.P ‘Back To England’.

Good thing I like to consider myself a ‘Green’ writer, in that I like to recycle bits of writing that didn’t make it to the final cut, so… good pieces of description will live again.

And here I thought it was done. Re-reading is like reeling in your fishing line. Everything seems to be going well and then WHAM, the reel is nested (read tangled), and you’ve got to spend the next hour or so, untangling it. Here’s the kicker, at least I know that when I’ve untangled it, the fish is still on the hook and Echoes remains intact.

Word Weaving is such an accurate description for writing.

About Dale Long

Writing ambushed me from the shadows. At first I pushed it aside as nonsense, but luckily my wife and two girls saw the potential. Since then I have had an article published by Metroland, placed as runner-up and in the top ten in humour writing contests and various other contests. The icing on the cake was placing as runner-up in the WCDR's Wicked Words contest (130 entries) and having my entry published in the contests anthology of the same name. My entry was an exerpt from my upcoming novel, Echoes.
This entry was posted in Writing News. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cutting Room Floor

  1. Bonnie Robinson says:

    Dale where did you get all this creativity from. You can make ordinary thoughts seem so thought provoking. You truly have a talent.

Leave a Reply

