How much is TOO much.

Being new to the whole blogging thing, I don’t know how much or how often I should post and how much of my books I should post.

As the whole point of this blog is to generate an audience for my writing, I feel I should post some more excerpts. I mean, after-all, how can I generate and audience if I don’t post some writing?

That said, I don’t want to be like those movies whose commercials give away all the funny or action scenes and leave the movie goer with only filler once they’ve paid the price of admission. Or worse yet, post so much that you won’t need to buy the book (when and if it ever makes the market).

So… I’m posted another scene that ties into the prologue and summary that I’ve already posted. I don’t want to give too much away other than my main character is John. He is on a trip to England with his University friends, Mary, Claire (Mary’s roommate), Percy (John’s roommate) and Matt (Their residence’s house master). There they meet up with one of Matt’s friends, from his many trips abroad, Byron.

Byron arranges for them to stay at the Villa Diodati in Greece where Mary Shelley and John Polidori were purported to have originated their books, Frankenstein and The Vampyre respectively. This scene is them arriving there. Byron, had to stay in England due to work.

I hope I haven’t confused you with… Shadows of the Past.

About Dale Long

Writing ambushed me from the shadows. At first I pushed it aside as nonsense, but luckily my wife and two girls saw the potential. Since then I have had an article published by Metroland, placed as runner-up and in the top ten in humour writing contests and various other contests. The icing on the cake was placing as runner-up in the WCDR's Wicked Words contest (130 entries) and having my entry published in the contests anthology of the same name. My entry was an exerpt from my upcoming novel, Echoes.
This entry was posted in Writing News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How much is TOO much.

  1. Hey Dale

    Blogging is tricky. I think so too. I will say, I was blogging once a week until my exciting week last week – when I posted 4 times. Surprizingly, the numbers were high for each posting. I was surprized by that. So I would say blog at least twice a week – that is going to be my goal now. I write like I talk – too much. LOL. So I am always trying to keep the word count down.

    Last thing – in terms of excerpts – the agent at the HSW said no more than 5% should be published online. So keep that in mind while you are giving your teasers. I guess you can tease too much. 🙂

    Blog on!

Leave a Reply

