Editing

Editing, the bane of every writers existence and yet a very vital part of the writing process. I understand this, but it doesn’t mean I have to like it, or that my brain won’t fight it, and fight it, it is.

That said, there is nothing like the re-reading of your work, your brain child, your cursedpilesofpaperthatnobodywilleverreadbecauseitsucks… ahem… please excuse my inner critic. Where was I? Oh yes, there is nothing like re-reading to re-introduce you to the world you created; to reinforce your confidence in your writing. And I have found that… as well as a number of holes that need attention.

I submitted a query letter to an agent about four weeks ago and have been wearing a hole in my e-mail with the constant checking. But now I’m kinda happy agents take their time getting back to you. I’m madly typing away and of course what kind of a writer would I be if my inner critic wasn’t being extremely loud and beating me about the head with my own doubts and insecurities. It’s a wonder I get anything written with all that racket.

And here I thought Hemmingway writing down in Key West was such a glamorous scene, no wonder he drank so much.

About Dale Long

Writing ambushed me from the shadows. At first I pushed it aside as nonsense, but luckily my wife and two girls saw the potential. Since then I have had an article published by Metroland, placed as runner-up and in the top ten in humour writing contests and various other contests. The icing on the cake was placing as runner-up in the WCDR's Wicked Words contest (130 entries) and having my entry published in the contests anthology of the same name. My entry was an exerpt from my upcoming novel, Echoes.
This entry was posted in Writing News. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Editing

  1. Bonnie Robinson says:

    That’s funny Dale!!!

Leave a Reply

