Hooray! Done…again.

Well, writing is a learning experience, and as I am still new to this, it is something I should accept right? Then why I am I constantly surprised and gratified by learning a new trick, a new way of doing things or that when I think I’m done, I’m not?

Yes I thought I was done, but now I realize it was because the big parts were done. I had no experience what-so-ever in what editing was. What a draft actually meant and that there could be more than one or two or…etc.

I said before I had found a ‘hole’. Well that hole turned into a wall and then a really thick wall until I found the keystone, or word, to cause it to fall so I could move on and … fall into the next hole, and the next one. So much for being done.

That said, this time I think I’ve done it. Everything is knitted together, it flows, the language is good. Now to re-read AGAIN. But this time to correct spelling and grammar (Those of you who know my english marks from high-school can stop laughing now.. please?). And then to print it out and hand it to my trusted and some untrusted readers.

What’s that you say? That’ll create more work? Well, they do say that a writer never truly stops writing a book even long after it has been published.

Writing is seen as the thing to do when you retire. As in “When I retire, I’ll write that book I’ve always thought about writing.” Thing about this statement is that they have no idea what that book is or the amount of work that goes into it. It’s hard work and it’s easy to get discouraged, distracted, disillusioned. And don’t think for a moment that even professional, experienced writers don’t still have their inner critics that tell them it’s not good enough. They do. It’s just that they’ve learned to filter it and have the experience to be confident they’ll find a way.

Me? Well, I’m just stubborn with and overactive imagination. And I’m done. Again.

About Dale Long

Writing ambushed me from the shadows. At first I pushed it aside as nonsense, but luckily my wife and two girls saw the potential. Since then I have had an article published by Metroland, placed as runner-up and in the top ten in humour writing contests and various other contests. The icing on the cake was placing as runner-up in the WCDR's Wicked Words contest (130 entries) and having my entry published in the contests anthology of the same name. My entry was an exerpt from my upcoming novel, Echoes.
This entry was posted in Writing News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

