Printed

There is something gratifying and stupefying about seeing the completed novel, hot off the printer, hole-punched and bound in a report cover.

The gratifying part is that finally after all that work littered with moments of self-doubt and just plain and simple writer’s block, it’s done and it looks fantastic. Now that’s not to say it’s not still suffering from spelling and grammatical errors, but those are minor things. The holes are filled, the story is complete and all parts are connected.

The stupefying part is, I did this? Look at all those pages! It looks like a real book! Pinch me Pinocchio, I’m dreaming. I still am wonder struck that I could do it. And to think when I finished my second writing course, through Durham College, I had no idea what to do next. A unique program, offered by the teachers of that course (Sue Reynolds and James Dewar), had been mentioned but I wasn’t sure.

Wasn’t sure I had what it took to write, wasn’t sure I had enough of a premise to justify the money for this year-long Novel writing course and I initially balked at the idea. Life was busy (isn’t it always?), did I really have time for another course?

Thankful my wife Sue, wouldn’t let me forget about it and kept it in the forefront of our conversations. (She never nagged, just gentle and subtle reminders every now and then.) Also, thankfully, Sue and James saw something in my writing and accommodated my late request to join the group with open arms.

Guess my premise was strong enough afterall. Well the proof is still in the pudding, so those three shiny hard copies have been sent out and surprisingly (to me at least) have been received with enthusiasm.

Now to pace the floor like an expectant father while I await feedback.

About Dale Long

Writing ambushed me from the shadows. At first I pushed it aside as nonsense, but luckily my wife and two girls saw the potential. Since then I have had an article published by Metroland, placed as runner-up and in the top ten in humour writing contests and various other contests. The icing on the cake was placing as runner-up in the WCDR's Wicked Words contest (130 entries) and having my entry published in the contests anthology of the same name. My entry was an exerpt from my upcoming novel, Echoes.
This entry was posted in Writing News. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Printed

  1. Soul says:

    Go Dale!! I love what I’ve seen so far, and it wouldn’t surprise me to hear something good soon…

  2. Remember that it doesn’t matter how much you pace – that baby ain’t coming any sooner than nature planned. So go easy on your hardwoods. 🙂

    I agree – Sue and James are exceptional teachers who have made a difference to all of us that joined a Novel Approach, but they saw in your writing what we all did – brillance! Kudos to you for finishing such a daunting goal!

    • Dale Long says:

      ‘Pace partners’, I like that!

      It wasn’t just James & Sue, the whole class was the third teacher and made me want to constantly be better just to keep up.

  3. mary long says:

    Good job CASPER who would have figured a NEWF’S son wrote perfect ENGLISH

  4. dicksquinty says:

    Ah that’s brilliant to hear. I’m so excited for you. And yes, I’ve probably said it before, but your writing has always been strong and I’m sure this novel will be just as amazing as everything else you’ve written.
    I can’t wait to read it for myself. Surely, there’ll be a chance for little old me to get a copy, right?
    Just tell me where to mail the cheque 🙂

    • Dale Long says:

      Thanks Pete! I know not everyone will like it, but I’m hoping a lot will. I think it has a little something for everyone and it’s different enough.
      As soon as there are copies to be had, you’re on the list.

Leave a Reply

