Tired

The post will prove just how fickle we writers can be because I’m tired. Tired of reading and re-reading, guessing and second guessing my book. It’s done and now I’m bored of it.

Now what? Now I wait. I wait for people to read it, and I wait and wait… sigh. I suppose it’s like planning a party. The days leading up to the party are exciting, filled with plans and ideas. Then the event comes and it IS exciting and fun but then it’s over. This is when the post party let down sets in, a ‘now what?’ time.

I wimble about whether it’s good enough to send to agents or publishers and yet I really don’t want to read it again to find spots that need bolstering. That’s a lot of work.

I could work on Appetites… but I am a procrastinator. I now know why people write trilogies, it’s hard to put aside characters that have grown and become almost real people under my pen. I watched Ink Heart with my girls (Emmy says it’s a GREAT book, by the way) and in it the characters from the book come to life and the creator (author) has the chance to meet them in the flesh, but the character doesn’t want to meet the creator for fear he didn’t live up to the creators standards. What a fantastic concept!

I’d love to meet my characters. They surprised me, they startled me, they made their voices be heard but of all of them, Claire became so much more than she started out to be.

That said, it’s like having company over. There is a line when the stay becomes too long and as much as you may like these people, sometimes you’re happy to see them leave, even for a little while. Time to step back from Echoes, get caught up on my reading, get caught up on reading my friends upcoming novels, time to just let the mind fallow for a while before diving into another world and having my pen give birth to new and, hopefully, equally exciting characters.

So, to send or not to send. That is the question. I think I’ll take my chances, after-all, what’s one more thing to wait for?

About Dale Long

Writing ambushed me from the shadows. At first I pushed it aside as nonsense, but luckily my wife and two girls saw the potential. Since then I have had an article published by Metroland, placed as runner-up and in the top ten in humour writing contests and various other contests. The icing on the cake was placing as runner-up in the WCDR's Wicked Words contest (130 entries) and having my entry published in the contests anthology of the same name. My entry was an exerpt from my upcoming novel, Echoes.
This entry was posted in Writing News. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tired

  1. Bonnie Robinson says:

    I cannot get over how well you write. You describe things PERFECTLY!!!!. However if I were you I would now spend you down time looking for publishers. Sending out as many as you can to every publisher out there. Why not? What have you got to lose? The book if truely amazing!!!

  2. mary long says:

    It’s called—- POST PARTUM BLUES—- Step back and get cracking with those publishers-remember we have S.H. LUCK

    • Dale Long says:

      I never thought of it that way… I suppose that’s exactly what it is, to a lesser degree of course.
      I think I’m going to take time to write for some contests now.

Leave a Reply

