Found Time

I’m now in the enviable position to have found time and lots of it.

It was made official today at work. My replacement has been hired and once she’s acclimatized to the job, I start my sabbatical.

Now please note that this wasn’t my idea and I feel incredibly guilty for doing this, but it’s an opportunity I can’t afford to turn up. My wife, Sue, says if I don’t do this I will regret it.

So, it is with much trepidation, guilt, fear and a headful of two new books, that I take this big step. Another step along the road of accepting myself as a writer. I still feel like a pretender and I don’t think that will ever change which is a good thing right? It keeps me striving to be better, be different, to try new things.

It gives me time to work on my Wild Words entry, time to see if Appetites has the legs to make a book, time to see if A Grave Interview has strong enough characters to carry the story, time to try my hand at Sci-Fi, time to just… write.

Ok, deep breath now…

About Dale Long

Writing ambushed me from the shadows. At first I pushed it aside as nonsense, but luckily my wife and two girls saw the potential. Since then I have had an article published by Metroland, placed as runner-up and in the top ten in humour writing contests and various other contests. The icing on the cake was placing as runner-up in the WCDR's Wicked Words contest (130 entries) and having my entry published in the contests anthology of the same name. My entry was an exerpt from my upcoming novel, Echoes.
This entry was posted in Writing News. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Found Time

  1. Yahoo! Good for you Dale. This is a gift. Enjoy and work hard, and let me know if you need a kick in the writing ass. I’d be glad to lend a foot for a good cause! 🙂

  2. mary long says:

    WELL you could have told US

  3. Theresa says:

    Thank your lucky stars you are married to Sue. With all the support she’s giving you there’s no excuse good enough for you to not get that butt in the chair & write. And we’ll be hounding you every chance we(your ANA buddies of course) get.

    I think I’m turning green. I want to ditch work/the store for say – ever – and write. A million ideas swirl around in my brain for the books I’m writing now and I have two other high level ideas for my next two sets of novels. Oh well, I’ll live my writing dream vicariously through you.

    So, you better get that laptop plugged in, pour a cup of java, & plunk your behind in the chair. Can’t wait to read what comes now. Yeah Dale ( and of course, Sue).

Leave a Reply

