Travelling Muse

Inspiration strikes at the oddest times and comes from the most innocuous sources. It’s one of those things that can’t be forced and no matter how long I sit in front of my computer pounding my head on the keyboard, I can’t make it happen. Sooo I have to accept those gifts when they come.

That said, on the way home from Blue Mountain today, I had one of those moments. The main characters and the plotline of my next book Appetites fleshed itself out in the vast emptiness of my head as I drove. To break it down for you, it was a series of ‘what-ifs’ and ‘what-nexts’ and everything seemed to just fall neatly in place. But just as with everything good, there is a but.

The book has become a much darker book than I had originally envisioned. My main character is not a nice man and writing from the ‘looking out’ side of his eyes is easier than I had thought and that scares me. I am not him and I never will be, but will the reader know that? I know I have a hyper-active imagination and apparently an innate intuition, AND I know that the character is a refection of the baseness of the male psyche, but should I be able to write him so easy?

I suppose that I shouldn’t gripe about such things as it can be viewed as how strong the writing is, but true to every writers angst, I’ll worry it like a loose tread on my sweatshirt.

Did I say the story was dark? Well, aspects of it are creeping even me out and I haven’t even written the gory parts yet.  And the work to keep it authentic is mind-boggling.

Enough of my bitching and moaning, I have some writing to do and a critique group that will help ground my fears.

Digging inside people’s heads is scary stuff. Pass me the pick axe?

About Dale Long

Writing ambushed me from the shadows. At first I pushed it aside as nonsense, but luckily my wife and two girls saw the potential. Since then I have had an article published by Metroland, placed as runner-up and in the top ten in humour writing contests and various other contests. The icing on the cake was placing as runner-up in the WCDR's Wicked Words contest (130 entries) and having my entry published in the contests anthology of the same name. My entry was an exerpt from my upcoming novel, Echoes.
This entry was posted in Writing News. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Travelling Muse

  1. mary long says:

    Stop analizing yourself———–go with the flow.

    • Dale Long says:

      Thanks mom, I plan too, but it makes me wonder…. Not that I’m overly worried about it, but when it is something I hope people will buy, it does cross my mind every now and then.

  2. Theresa says:

    Alright, enough phsyco analyzing yourself. If I worried that people would think I was like my characters would I have written much of anything last year? There’s your answer – unless of course you think I’m like Darius.

    Anyway, I found writing the bad, the evil & the horrific was a lot of fun. Just enjoy the experience because you know it’s not you writing the story – it’s your characters leading you through it. That’s how I always feel.

    I’m really looking forward to reading this book as it progresses.

Leave a Reply

