Doubt

I realize that doubt is an integral part of the creative process in that it forces you to re-think your writing and in some cases illuminates weak spots, but why does it have to be so heavy-handed?

Appetites is in the ‘doubt tumbler’ right now and I am in the process of retrieving it and from all intents and purposes it has remained intact. In fact i may have reinforced my faith in my story. Yes it is still in its infancy, and yes the characters are still in flux, but the building requires, unfortunately, a heaping dose of doubt.

I am looking forward to working through the bumps and am bolstered by the outpouring of enthusiasm that I have received so far based on a premise. Monday night I get to catch up with my fellow writers from the Novel Approach course and that never fails to boost my creative energies, so to speak. Plus, this group of exceptional talent has now morphed into yet another tool in a writers arsenal, a critique group. I learn new things about this writing business everyday.

So with my writing sabbatical looming in the distance, I will be, hopefully, posting some character blurbs from Echoes and seeing where the new ideas for Appetites, garnered on the drive home from Blue mountain last week, will lead.

Also, being new to this whole ‘writers blog’ thing, I’d like to hear what you, as readers and hopefully long-time fans, would like to see in this blog. Pictures that inspired me? Music that I use as background? More excerpts?

Let me know and don’t be afraid to post or, if you like it well enough, to tell people you know that are avid readers about his site. Thank-you for reading, I hope to keep you riveted to the page.

About Dale Long

Writing ambushed me from the shadows. At first I pushed it aside as nonsense, but luckily my wife and two girls saw the potential. Since then I have had an article published by Metroland, placed as runner-up and in the top ten in humour writing contests and various other contests. The icing on the cake was placing as runner-up in the WCDR's Wicked Words contest (130 entries) and having my entry published in the contests anthology of the same name. My entry was an exerpt from my upcoming novel, Echoes.
This entry was posted in Writing News. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Doubt

  1. Theresa says:

    Hey Dale,

    I like the way you’re posting your blog. I feel like we’re in a conversation as I read. And on that note – here’s my half of the conversation.

    As much as we writers ( I love saying that) will always have doubt about our work we have to let it drift to the very back edge of conscious thought. It’s good to keep you on your toes but a killer to ultimate creativity if looked at too often and up close. Besides, let’s be honest – you’re a good writer. And I’m looking forward to ‘Appetites’. See you Monday.

    • Dale Long says:

      Thanks Theresa, that means a lot to me.

      I’ve been lucky in that while doubt does slow me down, I use it as a sparring partner and it actually helps me hone my writing. I can see how it would kill creativity, but as of yet, it hasn’t landed that blow yet.

  2. mary long says:

    once again CARRY ON McDUFF!!!!!!

  3. Ahhh, doubt. I know it well. What can I say Dale, from everything I know, you’re in good company. Push through fellow writer, without pain there is no pleasure. No pain, no gain. Gotta have showers in order to get your rainbow, and all other sorts of stupid sayings like that.

    On another note, I just finished the critique of the first Echoes submission. Muwah ha ha! I hold the power, I can feel it in the tip of my GIANT red pen.

    Ah no, it was a fantastic read and I used a pencil. By the way – it is so full of tension and suspense that I had to eat a chocolate bar afterwards. Thanks alot by the way. 🙂

    Noelle

    • Dale Long says:

      HAHAHA!! Please note, I did not supply the chocolate bar…

      Thanks Noelle! I nervously look forward to Monday night. I may have no finger nails left… I’d say I may have no hair left but it left a number of years ago…

Leave a Reply

