Deadlines

I know it’s been a while but I didn’t want to post just for the sake of posting. I didn’t really have anything new to report. Work has been busy trying to prepare for leaving on my sabbatical and I haven’t been writing or fermenting any new ideas. I have some deadlines to meet and they are now hanging over my head like an Acme piano and Wile E. Coyote is holding the other end of the rope.

I finally bit the bullet and officially joined the WCDR. I had been going to their monthly breakfasts on and off over the last two years so I figured it was time. Besides I wanted to go to today’s breakfast, I needed to be around other writers. Todays guest at the breakfast was Neil Crone. What a funny, funny man! What a great breakfast too. But what I was long-windedly trying to get to was that while work and stress were collectively squashing my creative spark and inhibiting my sleep, this breakfast was a welcome balm.

Being in a room full of writers (170, WOW!) has a unique and infectious energy. I like to compare it to a magnet. Ok, stay with me here, the difference between a magnet and an ordinary piece of metal is that in a magnet all the electrons are aligned. The magnet has its own magnetic field or energy. A room full of writers is similar in that they all think alike and ooze creative energy.

So I come away with a renewed sense of direction and recharged confidence. Monday I have my critiquing group for which I have to offer critique for two of my colleagues, September 25th I am reading at the Celebration of the Arts in Uxbridge (I may have mentioned this once or twice before) and November 30th is the deadline for the Wild Words contest.

As of Tuesday, I will have not only the time to do this but I will no longer have the work-stress-monkey perched on my back. I’ll only have my own doubts and insecurities hounding me.

My bookmarks (my new business cards) are at the printer and will hopefully be ready for September 25th and more Wicked Words Anthologys have been ordered to be available as well. I still haven’t wrapped my head around the whole ‘full time writer’ thing. My co-workers keep asking me if I’m excited. Y’know, I’ve been so stressed about leaving work that I haven’t even thought about it.

Ok, now I’ve thought about it… what have I done?? No, I know what I have done, the positive feedback keeps coming in and I feel totally undeserving of the praise and a little guilty when I do acknowledge it, but acknowledge I must. I hope my head doesn’t swell. If it does, maybe Mike Myers has room in his house for me.;)

About Dale Long

Writing ambushed me from the shadows. At first I pushed it aside as nonsense, but luckily my wife and two girls saw the potential. Since then I have had an article published by Metroland, placed as runner-up and in the top ten in humour writing contests and various other contests. The icing on the cake was placing as runner-up in the WCDR's Wicked Words contest (130 entries) and having my entry published in the contests anthology of the same name. My entry was an exerpt from my upcoming novel, Echoes.
This entry was posted in Writing News. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Deadlines

  1. Judy Davis says:

    good luck Dale, you are very brave–let your passion take you on this journey

Leave a Reply

