Thank-you CCR

     I love driving. It doesn’t have to be long trips or even horsepower fueled adrenaline rushes, just being behind the wheel with a destination and I feel content. Don’t get me wrong, there are a lot of people out there that have no business having a licence. Yes the very same ones that think it is a right or that they can apply make-up, text on their phones, or, like owners of certain vehicles which shall remain nameless but start with B, that they are the most important people on the road.

     I’m sure you’ve met all of these types at some point or another and yes they make my blood boil, BUT there is something very relaxing about driving and, for the record, it happens to be where a lot of my ideas that shape. Like today, I was driving home with my dad’s CCR CD (Cosmo’s Factory) in the stereo and on came Run Through The Jungle. All of a sudden I was in Appetites. The character of Lou Garou fleshed out in my head as I drove. And I mean not just plot wise, but physically as well, right down to his speech patterns. I heard him talking to my main character Peter; justifying himself (smugly of course) and drawing comparison between the two of them; how they were ‘cut from the same cloth’. The ending of Appetites also took a loose form as did Peter’s daughter.

     Suddenly, I found the need to get home to the computer worse than if I drank two of McDonald’s bladder buster ‘medium’ pops. I was grinning like a maniac.

     To make matters worse/better(?), an idea I had for another book, started to make a case for itself. It will complete the trifecta of psychological thrillers. While not a trilogy, they will all be connected somehow.

     As well, last night I put the finishing touches on three pieces for the Wild Words competition (due Nov. 30) and have started an entry for the CBC Literary Awards (due Nov.1). I am again on track.

     So thank-you, CCR, for your timeless works of story telling and thank-you Dad, for getting me hooked on them in the first place.

Disclaimer: The names of the characters in Appetites are place holders and in no way reflect whether they will be the same once the book is finished. Also, no animals were harmed in the writing of this post, except myself and I am not an animal.

About Dale Long

Writing ambushed me from the shadows. At first I pushed it aside as nonsense, but luckily my wife and two girls saw the potential. Since then I have had an article published by Metroland, placed as runner-up and in the top ten in humour writing contests and various other contests. The icing on the cake was placing as runner-up in the WCDR's Wicked Words contest (130 entries) and having my entry published in the contests anthology of the same name. My entry was an exerpt from my upcoming novel, Echoes.
This entry was posted in Writing News. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thank-you CCR

  1. Bonnie Robinson says:

    Hey were you talking about me being a bad driver Dale?!? Gee and to think I use to like you ;). I wish I had the excitement you have over your writing. I have seen ideas come over you and you turn into a totally different person. You have found your destiny Dale and I will be the first in line to buy all your books…hey can I borrow some money.

    • Dale Long says:

      Not the owner’s name starting with B, the vehicle starts with B. Besides, how would I know if you are a bad driver? Every time we are in a vehicle together I’m driving even when it’s your car!

Leave a Reply

