Onward and Upward

     Sorry, this is another post about my ramblings as opposed to writing, per se.

     My Grandmothers memorial was beautiful, thank-you to all of you that came and for the wishes from those who could only be there in spirit. Bonnie, you did a fantastic job pulling the whole thing together.

     I wrote Nana’s eulogy and while writing it was hard, reading it was much harder. I’m no stranger to reading in public, but there was too much emotion in the room. I managed to make it through. As always, my inner critic was loud. (c’mon say it with me like Yoda, I know you want to – the critic is strong in this one, yes?) I agonized that I hadn’t written enough, that I hadn’t included everyone, that I hadn’t captured what I wanted to say. Ultimately my worries were in vain, and I realize just to have said something was the key. Deep breath here.

     It’s time now, I have to buckle down and get back to what I’m supposed to be doing, writing. To that end, I have written and I think I’ve solved my werewolf issues for Appetites, I critiqued two pieces and I submitted my next 20 pages for my critique group and again that damned inner critic snarled and frolicked in my head. “The writing is weak” it said, “The charaters; clichéd” it crowed. But again, it was proven wrong by my peers. BUT that won’t deter it from the next time.

     Now about my critiquing. Remember that Inner critic? The one my mother keeps telling me to ignore? Well, it has its say in that too. Lucky for me, these writers, these word wizards, make it too easy. There is nothing to critique. The stories are strong, the characters are real. Really pleasures to read.

     So, next weekend I’m off to a writing retreat to hopefully pound out the storyline for Appetites, and flesh out the characters, let them speak to me… so to speak.

   Oh, and I’m bringing headphones and loud music. Let’s see that inner critic talk over that.

About Dale Long

Writing ambushed me from the shadows. At first I pushed it aside as nonsense, but luckily my wife and two girls saw the potential. Since then I have had an article published by Metroland, placed as runner-up and in the top ten in humour writing contests and various other contests. The icing on the cake was placing as runner-up in the WCDR's Wicked Words contest (130 entries) and having my entry published in the contests anthology of the same name. My entry was an exerpt from my upcoming novel, Echoes.
This entry was posted in Writing News. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Onward and Upward

  1. Bonnie Robinson says:

    Well I must say your eulogy was heart felt, humourous and amazing. It captured everything Nana stood for and I was so proud of you. As for the snippets I have read from your “appetites” book. It left me wanting to read more and more. It sent chills up my spine. That’s saying a lot since neither Dean Koontz nor Stephen King have ever done that to me. I am waiting for more. You’re writing is like a drug the craving for more seems to get stronger and stronger with everything I read.

Leave a Reply

