Awards!

   I have been graced with The Honest Scrap award by my colleague and friend, Noelle Bickle. She was also blessed with this award from Claudia Osmond. The award gets passed on from blogger to blogger, a positive nod for writing from the heart. Noelle definitely deserved it, make sure you check out her blog and see for yourselves.

The Honest Scrap Award:
   This award is about bloggers who post from their heart, who often times put their heart on display as they write from the depths of their soul.

   By the rules, I now have to reveal to you all 10 honest things that I feel most people don’t know about me. The problem is, I think I’m pretty much an open book. What you see is what you get. I don’t feel I’m deep enough to be mysterious or have secrets.

   So instead of listing 10 things, I’ll open the door to the inside of my head and let you have a quick peek. If nothing else, you’ll suggest I hire Molly Maid for the dust, or you may see the gears that produce the stories I tell. Don’t worry the trap door is easy to find, there’s not enough hair left to hide it adequately anymore.

   I don’t like spiders, plain and simple. They’re creepy, they’re sneaky enough said, no Jung-ian sub-text, just don’t like ’em.

   I too, am afraid of deep water because of Jaws. Not a crippling fear, mind you, just enough to give me the heebie-jeebies when swimming in the lake. Doesn’t stop me from fishing on the lake mind you, I’m pretty sure I can out-swim, Jeremy, Grant or Jeff if it ever comes to a freak fresh water shark attack.

   I have a few regrets, not finishing University, not finding my writing chops until just recently, but nothing serious; no need to evoke Freud.

   I’m not as confident as I may appear. This, is the big one. This is the one I have the most trouble admitting to. Actually, I’m insecure, but I keep that insecurity to only one or two things… hopefully? I think this is why my inner critic is such a loud, obnoxious beast, but I still find ways around it.

   I am a Jack-of-all-trades. Don’t tell me I can’t do something, because I will try to prove you wrong every time and according to my wife, I succeed way too often for her liking. (Note to self, occasionally fail when it is Sue saying these things. Then again, she should know better by now)

    My bark is worse than my bite. Contrary to popular belief, I CAN accept when I’m wrong, you just have to prove it to me. I just like being righteously indignant. The position comes with a snappy soapbox upon which to stand.

   I think a lot. Now before you jump all over this, hold your laughter. I never said it was intellectual thinking, I just think. I’m hungry, I feel like drinking tonight, I feel like having … ok, that’s enough honesty for now. 😉

   As for passing this along to another deserving blogger, well, I still don’t know what I am doing with the blog in the first place, let alone having read a lot of blogs. Once I do find one, I will pass it along. (That’s right Aaron and Pete, you guys actually have to post to qualify.)

   Suffice it to say, I am humbled.

About Dale Long

Writing ambushed me from the shadows. At first I pushed it aside as nonsense, but luckily my wife and two girls saw the potential. Since then I have had an article published by Metroland, placed as runner-up and in the top ten in humour writing contests and various other contests. The icing on the cake was placing as runner-up in the WCDR's Wicked Words contest (130 entries) and having my entry published in the contests anthology of the same name. My entry was an exerpt from my upcoming novel, Echoes.
This entry was posted in Writing News. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Awards!

  1. Brad Long says:

    I am having a little problem with the “I’m not as confident as I appear ” comment. As for the jack of all trades …. I claimed that one a long time ago! Plagiarist! I am the one that excels at mediocrity!

    • Dale Long says:

      Mediocrity? Me? No, no, no. I meant I can do anything I set my mind to. And for the record, Jack-of-all-trades was something I lived, before you even started working. So there. Neener, neener neener 😉

  2. Bonnie Robinson says:

    Well that’s honesty. I think you might have left a few things out but then again I am on the outside looking in. You once told me someone said that reading your blog was like having you in the room. This blog imparticular made me feel that. I could hear you laughter whilst writing this. I must say you are a MUCH better writer then speaker. Way to Go Dale. Congrats on the award.

  3. mary long says:

    well let me add my two cents——-the insecurity —– Iown that. the dare –=–I own that . prove me wrong —–I own that. Could it be you’re my spawn ????????You other two try me.

  4. Soul says:

    You mean I don’t get the award just for being me??? ;-P

Leave a Reply

