I Remember

I wanted to talk about celebrities – I’ve met a few –  and how we, like Victor Frankenstein, are the creators of the media monsters. In fact I had a whole rant worked out, but it all went out the window. No I didn’t forget it, I went out today, to my daughters school and watched their Remembrance Day ceremony.

As a writer, I’m supposed to be in tune with perspective. Remember that writer’s eye I talked about? Well even writers with their mystical ‘eye’ can get too close to something, or even too far away, and perspective sneaks up and smacks us upside the head.

These children, with voices of angels and eyes not yet jaded by our media monsters and close-minded opinions, showed a respect and reverence that I feel a good number of adults today could learn a thing or two from.

They had sketches that showed the human face of the wars past and present. They showed films like “A Pittance of Time” by Terry Kelly and sang “In Flanders Field” a song arranged by Adele Simmons (she combined the Flanders Field poem with the tune of Greensleeves).

There I was, a grown man, choking back tears. Yes my grandfather fought in WWII as a wireless gunner in the Halifax bombers for the RAF. Yes I knew several family members and friends of the family that served and lived to tell about it and sadly, there are very few left. The thing that grabbed my heart and lodged it securely in my throat was to hear it from small voices that, believe it or not, do get it.

Our veterans fought for our rights; they fought for the rights of other countries not big enough to stand by themselves; they fought the good fight against those that would not sit for peace and I thank them for that every day. But today I would also like to thank just people. The ones that help us remember, that won’t let us forget.

Thank-you Adele Simmons. Thank-you Jennifer Wilson. Thank-you teachers of Scott Central. And thank-you parents of the children that ‘get it’.

Mostly thank-you veterans, past and present. I accept that torch from failing hands and I hold it up high so that I remember, so that the lessons learned are not forgotten.

About Dale Long

Writing ambushed me from the shadows. At first I pushed it aside as nonsense, but luckily my wife and two girls saw the potential. Since then I have had an article published by Metroland, placed as runner-up and in the top ten in humour writing contests and various other contests. The icing on the cake was placing as runner-up in the WCDR's Wicked Words contest (130 entries) and having my entry published in the contests anthology of the same name. My entry was an exerpt from my upcoming novel, Echoes.
This entry was posted in The Word According to Dad. and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I Remember

  1. Bonnie Robinson says:

    OK Dale. I am sitting at work, kinda miffed at the number of people that have come in today NOT wearing poppies. The radio goes silent at 11:00 and no one notices. The phones are ringing people are talking. I believe that we NEED to remember, in fact that not only the children but the adults should be forced to remember. I for one will always pass the stories to my children and I only hope that my children will pass them onto theirs. Our families fought for us and we should show the respect they deserve

  2. mary long says:

    Well done son.We are proud of the way you turned into a man

  3. Rose Moncada says:

    Dale, that is so beautifully put. Our soldiers from the past, the present, need to be recognized for the hero’s they are. We, (all) should learn for our children. They touch the truth without even so much as trying.

  4. Thanks for the link, Dale. I have a few tears in my eyes still, as I finish reading your post. Yes, I will carry the torch, too, with so much gratitude for those who have gone before to give me freedom. Thanks for your thoughts on this.

    • Dale Long says:

      No, thank-you Adele. It was a beautiful piece and my girls were thrilled to find out someone they knew had arranged it. “The lady with the funny puppets” 🙂

Leave a Reply

