Can of Worms

   As writers, we are people watchers extraordinaire. That said, I can hardly watch anymore. Anyone who knows me will tell you I have a low tolerance for stupidity. Ok, maybe low isn’t the right word. I have, let’s see, what’s the word I’m looking for… AH, I have NO tolerance for stupidity and very little patience.

   Now I’m not talking regular, oops I goofed, type stupidity, I’m talking true idiocy. An example you say? Well, just yesterday my wife and I took a late morning, just the two of us, shopping trip. I come from a retail background back before Sunday shopping, and I still don’t 100 percent agree with it, but I admit I do shop on Sunday. For the most part, I do try to avoid it. Not for any religious purpose, just due to the fact that retail people need time off too. But I digress.

   So, off to (insert metropolitan location of choice) we go. Mistake number one. I have this saying from back when I worked in insurance, when asked why it was more expensive to drive in ‘the city’ than, lets say, Uxbridge, I would reply “The denser the population… you can take that both ways…” (insert metropolitan location of choice) has a much denser population than Uxbridge.   

I’ll admit, a shopping outlet this close to Christmas (mistake number two) isn’t the best way to judge a population as a whole. Busy people and stressed people will often succumb to idiotic behaviour that you wouldn’t normally see from them any other time of the year. There is also that segment of the population that were born and bred to be ignorant. Watch how they walk. Then go watch how they drive. It is with the exact same sense of entitlement and blindness. AND, it seems, the more expensive the vehicle, the worse it gets.

   But I’m profiling. I’m guilty of not always using my head. On occasions I let my temple get the best of me BUT I’m not above admitting I’m wrong and taking full responsibility for my actions.

   So, let’s just say, slow down; be aware of the people around you and show some respect, courtesy and above all, some common sense. Remember little eyes are watching you. Not just your children but others as well. Grown-ups are deemed the behaviour to emulate because they supposedly know better.

   When did we stop knowing?

City names have been omitted to protect those with common sense, in that location, from being grouped in with those without.

About Dale Long

Writing ambushed me from the shadows. At first I pushed it aside as nonsense, but luckily my wife and two girls saw the potential. Since then I have had an article published by Metroland, placed as runner-up and in the top ten in humour writing contests and various other contests. The icing on the cake was placing as runner-up in the WCDR's Wicked Words contest (130 entries) and having my entry published in the contests anthology of the same name. My entry was an exerpt from my upcoming novel, Echoes.
This entry was posted in The Word According to Dad.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

