Making a Good Pitch

   “It’s on the inside corner for a called third strike at 98mph! This kid is bringing the heat!

   Well, at least that’s how I hope it goes. Tomorrow I’m heading to Oshawa for the Darklit Fest. There I will be listening to other ‘Horror’ authors talk about their trade and reading some of their work. Highlighting these is author Kelley Armstrong.


   While there, I am pitching my book Echoes to one of the three publishers attending the event. I’ll tell you, I am more nervous than a cat in a room full of rocking chairs.  It’s an excessively hard market to break into, and it seems books have to be near perfect or heavily recommended by well-known authors to break that bubble. The way I see it, writing and getting published or getting an agent is like the Emergency room at a hospital,  with people who aren’t in an emergency vastly outnumbering those that are.

   I’m not saying I one of those that are in emergency, I like to think so, but I would imagine ALL of them think the same way. The key is in presenting my case or throwing that blazing inside fastball.

   Put me in coach,  I’m warmed up and ready to throw.

About Dale Long

Writing ambushed me from the shadows. At first I pushed it aside as nonsense, but luckily my wife and two girls saw the potential. Since then I have had an article published by Metroland, placed as runner-up and in the top ten in humour writing contests and various other contests. The icing on the cake was placing as runner-up in the WCDR's Wicked Words contest (130 entries) and having my entry published in the contests anthology of the same name. My entry was an exerpt from my upcoming novel, Echoes.
This entry was posted in Writing News. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Making a Good Pitch

  1. Lisa Llamrei says:

    If that publisher has any sense, s/he’ll offer you a contract on the spot.

  2. Deepam says:

    Remember your (elevator) pitch and throw true. I’m cheering for you. Give me a D, give me an A, give me an…

Leave a Reply

