Writers guilt

As some of you may know, I have had the luxury of being able to take a ‘sabbatical’. Initially it is intended to be a year in length. Time to shake of the mental stress of the insurance industry and focus on writing, marketing and establishing myself. As I’ve said before, my wife Sue suggested it and whole-heartedly supports me in this, but…

There is always a but, isn’t there? nothing is ever easy. In this case it isn’t people questioning my abilities, it is me. I feel guilty. Sue is working away still dealing with… the stress, while I’m at home, a lot of days, just rattling around the house procrastinating on EVERYTHING.

Sure there are good-natured jokes about how I’ve nothing to do, and I do laugh at those because I know they are made in jest and yet…

So I took stock. What am I doing? Funnily enough, when looking back, I am actually accomplishing things. I’m signed up for a six-week writing course (evenings) to help counter my habit of writing phonetically instead of grammatically or punctuationally correct.

I’ve also signed up for a course on how to optimize my WordPress blog.

And finally a course on how to market myself and my creations in order to expedite my getting a publisher and an agent.

All this in the first month of the year. Plus, Appetites needs work.

That goes a long way towards helping ease the guilt but I am beginning to suspect that my guilt and inner critic maybe the same creature. That definitely does not bode well.

On the other hand, what a great idea for a story…

About Dale Long

Writing ambushed me from the shadows. At first I pushed it aside as nonsense, but luckily my wife and two girls saw the potential. Since then I have had an article published by Metroland, placed as runner-up and in the top ten in humour writing contests and various other contests. The icing on the cake was placing as runner-up in the WCDR's Wicked Words contest (130 entries) and having my entry published in the contests anthology of the same name. My entry was an exerpt from my upcoming novel, Echoes.
This entry was posted in Writing News. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Writers guilt

  1. Lisa Llamrei says:

    Don’t be so hard on yourself. You ARE working on your writing, as planned. Maybe being home isn’t as distraction-free as you hoped, but you are doing it. Even while you’re procrastinating on your writing, you’re probably doing something around the house that needs doing.

    Once those huge royalty cheques start rolling in, that’ll ease your guilt, too.

  2. Deepam Wadds says:

    I think your idea about writing about waiting and guilt and procrastination is the ticket… begin by beginning where you are and fall in. Just write, they say. Bum in chair, they say. Wise wise wise. Write where you are and what’s lurking beneath will eventually break through. The gems are there, but you have to dig through a lot of dirt to get to them. Dig on, my friend. Dig on.

    • Dale Long says:

      I really think all the waiting has put my brain on pause.
      The gems are rolling around, for sure, but right now the just resemble rough ore. I think the plus is that I realize they are still gems. I just have to wait for them to sparkle.

  3. Oh Dale, I sooooooo get this. I think you hit the nail on the head…your guilt is your inner critic. He’ll say anything to keep you down. Those darn inner workings. We should form a support group.

    Oh yeah, we already did. 🙂

    Keep on keepin’ on.

    • Dale Long says:

      Our suport group rocks! Just when I start to feel I’ve switched from keyboard to crayon, you guys reassure me. Nothing beats a built in audience.
      My inner critic and I have traded blows on several occasions but the little blighter refuses to stay down.

Leave a Reply

