Jersey Boys

Ok, I know this is late, we saw the musical last year at the Toronto Centre for the Arts, and I should be writing, but Sue and the girls surprised me with the Broadway soundtrack to The Jersey Boys the other day and while it wasn’t the Toronto cast, listening to it reminded me of how much I liked the show.

I’ve always had what I consider an old ear for music. When I was a kid the music I loved was the old stuff, the Beach Boys, The Four Seasons, Jan and Dean, Buddy Holly etc. Even into the teenage years when my friends were listening to Rush, Bon Jovi, Def Leppard, The Police etc, I was still hooked on the 50’s. Don’t get me wrong, I liked the current music but I leaned towards groups with a more classic sound like Huey Lewis, Billy Joel, Bryan Adams etc. Even today I lean more towards the unique songs, none of the cook-cutter copycat artists, so this show was a rare treat.

The cast was phenomenal, the music incredible. Rarely do I have a movie or musical experience where I didn’t want it to end. Forrest Gump was the last time a movie had that effect on me and Norah Jones at the Massey Theatre was the only concert. I think I sat open-mouthed through the whole thing.

It’s hard to explain the feeling. Like riding the leading edge of excited laughter or like the night before you leave for vacation; all this rolled into one.

Unfortunately The Jersey Boys run is over. For those that missed it, you missed a great thing. It was not a play set to music, it was a story whose music bound it together, whose cast embodied the time and the characters they played.

I’ve always felt the music sets the background to life. Through it you can almost travel through time, relive past memorable moments, maybe recapture some of your youth. Think about it, when someone says 80’s, what song pops into your head? When you happen to hear an old Dean Martin tune, where do you go? To a Vegas night club in the late 50’s?

Music is a big part of my writing process. It is the fabric upon which I paint. When I wrote Echoes I listened to the Animals, Herman’s Hermits, etc and it put me right in the late 60’s. Right now I’m listening to the Eagles, Five Man Electrical Band, Shakira (yes Shakira) and it sets the tone for Appetites.

Who know what the next book will bring?

Note: Jersey Boys Toronto Cast-
Jersey girls: Jennifer Copping, Élodie Gillett, Victoria Lamond 
Jersey Boys: Quinn VanAntwerp as Bob Gaudio, Daniel Robert Sullivan as Tommy DeVito, Jeff Madden as Frankie Valli, Michael Lomenda as Nick Massi.

Is it just me or does Jeff Madden (second from the left) look like Steve Carell?

About Dale Long

Writing ambushed me from the shadows. At first I pushed it aside as nonsense, but luckily my wife and two girls saw the potential. Since then I have had an article published by Metroland, placed as runner-up and in the top ten in humour writing contests and various other contests. The icing on the cake was placing as runner-up in the WCDR's Wicked Words contest (130 entries) and having my entry published in the contests anthology of the same name. My entry was an exerpt from my upcoming novel, Echoes.
This entry was posted in The Word According to Dad. and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jersey Boys

  1. Lisa Llamrei says:

    Jeff Madden and Steve Carell have never been seen together. Coincidence …?

    Sorry I missed the show.

  2. Jersey Boys is one I missed! I love a good musical.

    I find it amazing that you listen to music when you write. I just can’t do it. Even now, I am sitting in a house completly quiet other than the clicking of my keyboard. I do clean and cook to music though…odd. Maybe that’s why I try to keep the radio off as much as possible…lol.

Leave a Reply

