Nothing but Grey

The tile says it all. I’ve got nothing. Zip, zilch, nada. No creatures gnashing their way around my back yard upon which I could draw inspiration. No run ins with imbeciles to rant about. Nothing.

I did get a lot of writing done Monday though. I made excellent progress on Appetites and cleaned up the first 10,000 words of Echoes which I then fired off to an editor. The rest will follow later.

Yesterday I attended an insurance seminar. Maybe that’s the culprit. My brain got sucked back into the industry.

Or maybe it’s just one of those days. Did you ever have one? A day where any constructive thought seems more slippery than wet soap? More elusive that clear photos of Bigfoot? My internal creative compass resembles a mini fan, spinning like it was the dog days of August. Either that or I now possess Captain Jack Sparrow’s compass. If I close my eyes and think hard enough about what I really…ZZZZ.

Hunh, wha? Oh, sorry. Musta dozed off there. Where was I? No seriously, where was I?

Actually, I think I know the true culprit. I worked out last night, for the first time in a long time. It is humbling to realize just out of shape I’ve let myself get. The weights weren’t too heavy (been down that painful road before) and I wasn’t too winded. It’s just activity after so long a period of inactivity. I am 40… ish after all, I think I’ll blame the mid-life crisis for my sudden need to find other shapes to be in than round. Afterall, typing isn’t exactly an endurance sport, full contact sometimes, but I’ll never be left winded by pecking at the keyboard with two fingers.

So, I’m ashamed to say, I feel tired this morning. My arms feel heavy. I feel… old.

Maybe I just need another cup of coffee, and a drive around the block in the Mustang with the top down. I think I’ll look into getting my hair highlighted…

About Dale Long

Writing ambushed me from the shadows. At first I pushed it aside as nonsense, but luckily my wife and two girls saw the potential. Since then I have had an article published by Metroland, placed as runner-up and in the top ten in humour writing contests and various other contests. The icing on the cake was placing as runner-up in the WCDR's Wicked Words contest (130 entries) and having my entry published in the contests anthology of the same name. My entry was an exerpt from my upcoming novel, Echoes.
This entry was posted in The Word According to Dad., Writing News. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Nothing but Grey

  1. Oh God – not the highlights! LOL

    I think your brain getting sucked into the industry is totally what did it. It’s hard to be creative when logic is in the room. Good to know that Monday was a productive day, editing and polishing so tedious that you need to give yourself proper credit for getting it done. The creative part will come back…sunny days with rainbows are on the way.

    PS – when surveyed most people prefer round to any other shape 🙂

    • Dale Long says:

      Logic? In the insurance industry? HAHAHA! Only thing that could make it worse is if the government got their ill informed paws into it… wait, they have.

      Nothing wrong with round, just worn it for too long, time to change into something different.

  2. Dave says:

    Yes. Take the Mustang out, top down, wheels spinning, tunes blasting …

    I think you should grow your hair shoulder length, dress funky and act weird. That will get you in the writing mood.

  3. Lisa says:

    We’ve all had those days. Between you, me and the wallpaper, I’ll be anteing up two bucks at our next meeting.

    I think this entry itself is a sign that the fog is lifting.

    • Dale Long says:

      I think it is just one of those days. At least the sun is shining.

      And you’re right. I sat down with nothing and as we were taught, I wrote that. I have nothing and the rest just naturally followed. Great way to clear the fog and prepare me for tomorrow’s book club review. Yikes!

Leave a Reply

