Book Clubbin’

As this blog was to hopefully shed some light on the whole writing process and drag you all along with me through the trials and tribulations, I’ll bring you up to speed.

Well, I received another rejection yesterday but you know what? It was good. Jen Hale at ECW Press responded and not just with the traditionally, “it’s not right for me,” or “the intro didn’t draw me in.” She actually took the time to comment, in detail I might add, on the writing and plot and while it is not a fit right now, she felt it had lots of potential.

So why am I OK with this after all my griping about rejection? I had the pleasure of having Echoes reviewed by a book club.  They LOVED it. Now that’s not to say they didn’t point out areas that confused them or that they felt were a little ‘over-the-top’. To tell the truth, they pointed out areas I already suspected needed work and some areas I had already fixed.

Getting a book club review ones book is not for the faint of heart or for that matter someone so close to their book they refuse to see the flaws. I was so incredibly nervous and excited at the same time but I feel I have taken the next step. I’ve felt the sting of rejection and have accepted it for what it is, the filtration process.

Writers can be too close to their books and need that distanced view to see areas that can be shored up, clarified or just cut loose. Book clubs offer that; an unbiased reader’s eye.

Thank-you Connie and the ladies of your book club, Michelle, Marion, Gail, Sherry & Claudia as well as the m.i.a’s Rose & Jocelyn for taking a chance on an unknown and for your great feedback.

About Dale Long

Writing ambushed me from the shadows. At first I pushed it aside as nonsense, but luckily my wife and two girls saw the potential. Since then I have had an article published by Metroland, placed as runner-up and in the top ten in humour writing contests and various other contests. The icing on the cake was placing as runner-up in the WCDR's Wicked Words contest (130 entries) and having my entry published in the contests anthology of the same name. My entry was an exerpt from my upcoming novel, Echoes.
This entry was posted in Writing News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Book Clubbin’

  1. Lisa Llamrei says:

    I am so totally jealous you found a book club to review your book. I am not surprised they loved it, however. Not at all.

    Am very glad you are not taking the rejection so personally now. It is, after all, one person’s opinion.

    • Dale Long says:

      Thanks Lisa!

      I am starting to realize that my query letter needs more work, a LOT more work. If I can just get the agents and publishers to read past the 80 page mark… Ya, ya, same lament as every other writer out there, I know 😉

  2. Ruth Walker says:

    ECW does not hand out encouraging words just for the heck of it, Dale. They are a tough publisher with great standards, so good for you sir.

    It’s a process you are in, but you are moving along. It is courageous to offer up your writer’s life like this. But what gold for other writers, no matter where they are on the journey.

    Thanks for being an ‘open book’ on this Dale. So glad to be able to come along for some of the ride.

    • Dale Long says:

      That’s what I thought, Ruth. In fact when I first opened the large e-mail I thought it was a yes. But the length Jen went to was very much appreciated.

      I struggled with the purpose of my blog. But I hope I can help other writers know what they are going through, they aren’t alone. Maybe my journey will help inspire. That and shed some light on the whole process for the readers as well.

  3. Dave says:

    Dale, I’ve been watching ‘Writer’s Confessions’ on the book channel lately. One thing I garner from it is that rejection outweighs acceptance by a large percentage. Successful authours have risen above the rejection bog and with a good editor have enjoyed the success the saught. Last night the theme was having enough passion for writing that you will do it anyway despite rejection and that passion gets one through the process of seeing their work in print.

    You are moving along the road and your printer is just over the next hill. Hang in there writer/poet Long.

    • Dale Long says:

      I like watching that show too. It is a process and I think the first, largest, step is recognizing it as such.

      Thanks, Dave, although I’m not so sure about that poet tag…

Leave a Reply

