Blog Clog

PLUNGER, TOILET PLASTIC HANDLE 6"

I know I haven’t posted anything in a while but I have been writing. My friend Noelle has some great rants, Dave some interesting facts and Lisa as well. Thing is, as much as I like to rant, besides the torrid state of our politics (which quite frankly has been over ranted) I haven’t had need to vent. Nor do I have any interesting facts to share.

What I do have is a new confidence in my writing and I’ve come to the conclusion that confidence does not make for a good blogging partner.

I did have two new entries written but felt they lacked something. Maybe a bit of salt, or an extra pinch of cilantro, something was missing so off to the draft purgatory for them. Instead I thought I’d blog about nothing. Fun wow!

In all seriousness, I’m actually excited. I’m going to the Ontario Writers Conference April 30. There I will sit down with an editor in a ‘Blue Pencil Session’ and listen to what they have to say about the first three pages of Appetites. As well, I am waiting for an editor to finish with the first 10,000 words of Echoes.

Most people dread editing and I did too, but now I look forward to it. I used to think editing was this huge labour intensive chore, a massive re-writing. Recent events have shed a new light on it. I realized I’m too close to Echoes, I need a new perspective, an unbiased voice to tell me where the gaps are, where the story stumbles or gets confusing. In my critiquing sessions and the book club meeting, I’ve had some pointed out. As scared as I was about it, as soon as they pointed out a section, the fix popped into my head.

You know what the enlightening part was? The fix was, quite often, a single sentence, or a paragraph. Too easy you say? That’s what I thought too, but I presented my fix to those that pointed it out and they said it did the trick.

It got me thinking, spelling and grammar aside, this editing thing is going to be fun. Oh I’m sure, down the road here will come a fork where the dreary part of editing will take over but for now that road is paved with gold and no one ever grows old…

 Is there such thing as a writing coach?

About Dale Long

Writing ambushed me from the shadows. At first I pushed it aside as nonsense, but luckily my wife and two girls saw the potential. Since then I have had an article published by Metroland, placed as runner-up and in the top ten in humour writing contests and various other contests. The icing on the cake was placing as runner-up in the WCDR's Wicked Words contest (130 entries) and having my entry published in the contests anthology of the same name. My entry was an exerpt from my upcoming novel, Echoes.
This entry was posted in The Word According to Dad. and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blog Clog

  1. Lisa Llamrei says:

    I found the same thing when I was editing “Lifetimes”. Thinking about editing was a lot worse than doing it. Until it came time for the final edits when you have to go through it line by line. But fixing the gaps was a fun challenge. Enjoy it.

  2. If you dread editing, is that “dreaditing”?

    Love this conversation. I have nothing original to add, except I’m not afraid of editing anymore. I love it. Like doing a puzzle and discovering that I put a piece in the wrong place, where it seemed to fit – but it’s supposed to go somewhere else. The context of the puzzle usually reveals exactly where the piece should go, even if I make a mistake early on … so I wait for the reveal, hopefully with patience.

    Waiting. An illuminating exercise.
    HA, and hope the deadlines allow enough waiting time.
    But then, I haven’t had time to write for months. So don’t listen to me.
    I’m so looking forward to June! Insert happy sigh.
    June promises time. : )

  3. Dave says:

    A writing coach! What a cool idea.
    OK Long, quit dogging it… drop and gimme 5000 words RIGHT NOW! Then get back in there and write damn it or I’ll kick your ass so hard your kids will be constipated.
    Hmmm… maybe a coach would be something like a writing group…

Leave a Reply

