The Write Move

As a writer it is an amazing feeling when the accolades drown out the inner critic and his crony self-doubt. No, actually it is better than amazing but I wonder, is there a point where I will be able accept the accolades without my self-doubt questioning them.

I attended the Ontario Writers Conference on Saturday. Not only did I get to hear a great panel discussion on the pros and cons of self-publishing as opposed to traditional publishing, but I participated in two workshops and heard some great authors.

The highlight for me was a blue pencil session. I sat with an editor for 15 minutes while she discussed the first three pages of Appetites. From that I now have validation that my main character has enough character to make the reader want to read more. “Captivating” and “vivid sensory description” she said.

I had one of those moments. A “are you sure we’re talking about my work?” stuttering, stammering moment. Suddenly my shoes were very interesting and I couldn’t look up from them. Thank-you Sherry!

I spoke to Robert J. Wiersma about trying to classify Echoes as it crosses several genre boundaries. He told me to try ChiZine. Cool, that’s who has the first three chapters.

“That’s great” you say? Not so much. They have an early version. It has been changed since and is being edited. So while I’d like to send a nudge to them, I think I want to wait to get the edited chapters back and make the changes before seeing if I can resend them.

There were also a trio of skits, written by local playwrights and acted out by equally local talent. Piers Walker is a name to look out for as an up and coming actor, and Neil Crone was hilarious as always.

And finally, I got a backpack full of author signed books. What a great day. What a re-affirming day. What a day full of inspiration.

Batteries recharged, confidence renewed I feel on the cusp, like all I have to do is take one more step.

Ok, deep breath…

About Dale Long

Writing ambushed me from the shadows. At first I pushed it aside as nonsense, but luckily my wife and two girls saw the potential. Since then I have had an article published by Metroland, placed as runner-up and in the top ten in humour writing contests and various other contests. The icing on the cake was placing as runner-up in the WCDR's Wicked Words contest (130 entries) and having my entry published in the contests anthology of the same name. My entry was an exerpt from my upcoming novel, Echoes.
This entry was posted in The Word According to Dad. and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Write Move

  1. Lisa Llamrei says:

    Glad to hear you enjoyed the OWC so much. I am totally jealous. Next year I’ll have to save up babysitting credits from Grammy and use all of them on that one day so I can participate too!

  2. Dave says:

    4 3 2 … 1! Gooooooooooooooooo

Leave a Reply

