Lagging Behind

I’ve lost my Mojo. I had it a moment ago and now I can’t find it. Not that it was a particularly good mojo, but it was mine. Dusty, quirky, dark and sometimes mushy.

I was going to write a whole vemon filled rant about boat operators, in particular, loud, fast boat operators. You know the ones? The guys/gals who roar around the lake at high speeds, too close to smaller boats, too close to docks, ignoring the ‘No Wake’ signs because after all, signs don’t apply to them while they smile and wave, like idiots, totally unaware of anything but themselves while you sit in your little boat, their wake sloshing over the sides as you bob like a tub tuoy?

But I won’t. A funeral for a dear friend’s sister, way to young to leave this plane, took the wind out of my sails. Four young kids left here. Where is the reason in that? Where is the rhyme? Is it ok for a grown man to cry? Well I did. I cried for the children.

Another good friend of mine said, “there does always seem to be a cycle where people are having kids, grandkids etc and then people are passing away.” She should know, she just went through it with her father way too recently. I, for one, don’t like this stage. While I may write about all things grim and spooky, including death, I have a hard time dealing with it.

All of this changes the way ones thinks and has put me in a very maudlin state of mind. As such, aside from inspiring another free verse poem (damn you poetry!), it had made breaking out of my funk harder. Ok, lets just call it what it is, lazy. There I said it, I’ve been lazy and the lazier I get the more guilty I feel about be off to write. A vicious circle.

My writing colleagues are blistering new paths, finishing second novels, getting query letters out and I’m idling.

Well, no more! Dammit, I have a publisher kindly and patiently waiting for the revised first three chapters of Echoes. I WILL have them done and sent before the end of July.

Then I will celebrate (briefly, as Appetites awaits completion) with some time on the lake, bobbing in my wake swamped boat.

About Dale Long

Writing ambushed me from the shadows. At first I pushed it aside as nonsense, but luckily my wife and two girls saw the potential. Since then I have had an article published by Metroland, placed as runner-up and in the top ten in humour writing contests and various other contests. The icing on the cake was placing as runner-up in the WCDR's Wicked Words contest (130 entries) and having my entry published in the contests anthology of the same name. My entry was an exerpt from my upcoming novel, Echoes.
This entry was posted in Writing News. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Lagging Behind

  1. Immerse yourself in work that brings you to your knees and brings you joy in the same breath. And if the mojo starts lagging again, go back and re-read Noelle’s post:o)

  2. Lisa Llamrei says:

    Damn that fickle mojo. You and me. This summer. Fingers at the keyboard. We’re gonna get some writing done.

    • Dale Long says:

      It is on! I’m actually starting to have a game plan. Gotta sift through the many ideas shouting for attention (foundations for 6 books in place so far including a departure from the macabre, a Baseball book) and finish the pressing stuff.

  3. Diane Dooley says:

    It’s good and fitting for grown men to cry over motherless children. I don’t think you’ve lost your mojo – it’s just taken a bit of a hit. Check the couch cushions! it’s amazing the things you might find in there.

    • Dale Long says:

      HAHA!! Thanks Diane, I may just do that.

      Hey look, there’s the keys to a car I had 10 years ago and some popcorn. Mmmm… popcorn… 😉

      I’m back at the edits as I speak/type.

Leave a Reply

