Milestones

Life has a way of throwing obstacles or ‘bumps’ in your path. Some see them as growing pains, some as milestones. I’m approaching a milestone but I won’t be doing it alone. This Wednesday will mark 20 years of marriage for me and my better half, Sue.

February 2 was 21 years since I popped the question and January 31 was 25 years since a movie, originally meant to have three movie goers but ended up just the two of us (thank-you Betty!). The movie was Jewel of the Nile.

 

I’ve read a couple of blogs about modern-day romance and the whole ‘he said she said’ and ‘women are from Venus and men are from Mars’. Well written and fun to read. It’s a great topic as everyone’s view are totally different, and, from what I can see, will always be.

No, this wasn’t love at first sight, flowers and unicorns, Sue and I started out as friends. Two band geeks on the bus back to and from the Sutton Christmas Parade. Two swim team teammates with apparently more in common than just band and swimming. We talked about our younger siblings and joked about torturing their Cabbage Patch dolls and then something happened. She laughed.

Suddenly an old Elvis song rang in my head, “Wise men say, only fools rush in, but I can’t help falling in love with you.”

Yeah, Elvis, don’t judge. I’ve been told I have an old spirit. When my classmates were listening to Triumph and Rush, Depeche Mode and OMD, I was listening to Buddy Holly, Jan & Dean, the Beach Boys. So Elvis was no surprise.

Sue is in every way my better half. I’m loud and annoying, she is quiet and reserved. I’m thick-headed and stubborn, she is accepting and calm. I scraped through school, she is very clearly the brains. Beauty and the beast about sums it up. That said we are very much equal. My rough around the edges is a compliment to her hereditary worry-wartedness.

No, ours isn’t an idyllic marriage, we have our scrapes and warts like everyone else. We aren’t someone else without each other. We are who we are, and I think that is why I fell for her. She accepted me for what I am, not who I could be. Hell, I’m still trying to figure that one out.

She makes me laugh. She brings out the best in me and accepts the worst that tags along on occasion. I wouldn’t trade a single moment.

It’s been a long road but seems like it was only yesterday. 20 years and it still feels like day one. Still in love, still in lust, still friends.

Happy 20th anniversary Sue, I love you and I always will.

About Dale Long

Writing ambushed me from the shadows. At first I pushed it aside as nonsense, but luckily my wife and two girls saw the potential. Since then I have had an article published by Metroland, placed as runner-up and in the top ten in humour writing contests and various other contests. The icing on the cake was placing as runner-up in the WCDR's Wicked Words contest (130 entries) and having my entry published in the contests anthology of the same name. My entry was an exerpt from my upcoming novel, Echoes.
This entry was posted in The Word According to Dad. and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Milestones

  1. Winners All!
    Congrats Dale and Sue!

  2. Lisa Llamrei says:

    Awwwww. I still say that first date was a set-up, but you are both very lucky.

  3. Bonnie says:

    aww…..

  4. Dave Jones says:

    Congradulations you guys. Wishing you many many more happy years.

  5. Dale Long says:

    Thanks Guys! Dinner out was amazing! Blog-worthy even…

  6. mom says:

    awwwwwww! Good job DAlE.We figured all this out a long time ago Love Mom and DAD

Leave a Reply

