A Touch of Class…

There a few things I wish I had a better appreciation for, wine and poetry to start. But there are some things I have, maybe, an over appreciation for and the main culprit is food. A wine and cheese party has always appealed to my sensibilities but being a meat and potatoes, beer (read cider) and potato chips kind of guy, I doubt I’d do well at one. Classical music, fine china, expensive wine and me looking for dip. See the elephant in the room?

As you know, Bob, yesterday was my..erm, our wedding anniversary and we searched for a suitable place to go for a quiet dinner in celebration of said momentous event. In search of an appropriate eatery, my wife and I came to the conclusion that there is a dwindling number of traditional ‘high-end’ restaurants. They all seem the same. Pub-fare.

Now I’m not against pub-fare, it’s just that it seems in today’s sweat pant society there is less emphasis put on finery.

Many of the restaurants we passed on, we would normally welcome a meal at. But we were looking for the classy, quiet, dimly light restaurant where a piano with a softly crooning singer accompanying; in short a romantic place. Candle light, the low murmur of hushed conversation and the tinkle of silverware and glass.

We found such a place in Newmarket, Ontario. Spero Ristorante.

When I say ‘high-end’, one usually associates that with expensive and I have to say right off, that I don’t mind spending a little more for a good meal every now and then. I’m not going to break the bank, mind you, but I refuse to pay for a $60 entree that will fit in one cheek. My food doesn’t have to be pretty, it just has to taste good. Visual presentation is secondary and an added bonus when done skillfully. So no pretty postal stamps for dinner or me.

Spero Ristorante impressed us with its tasteful and not over-pretentious decor, its friendly and knowledgable servers (thank-you Jennifer) and its appetizers. The meal put it over the top. Dimly lit, soft music, good food and great wine.

A fitting way for this old soul and his still blushing bride to share a meal and reflect.

About Dale Long

Writing ambushed me from the shadows. At first I pushed it aside as nonsense, but luckily my wife and two girls saw the potential. Since then I have had an article published by Metroland, placed as runner-up and in the top ten in humour writing contests and various other contests. The icing on the cake was placing as runner-up in the WCDR's Wicked Words contest (130 entries) and having my entry published in the contests anthology of the same name. My entry was an exerpt from my upcoming novel, Echoes.
This entry was posted in The Word According to Dad. and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Touch of Class…

  1. Lisa Llamrei says:

    Adele stole my comment. I’ll say it again anyway: awwwwwwwww……….

Leave a Reply

