To Blog or … what?

It is important to recognize your own short comings in order to grow and I’ve come to realize I am not much of a blogger.

Yes, I am passionate about a lot of things and am always up for a lively debate or diatribe, but when it comes to blogging… well, my inner editor – some call it common sense – steps up and censors me to the point that the piece isn’t worth writing about anymore.

I have issues with the school boards, the bus lines, local, provincial and federal government and corporations who let accountants dictate how they should run a business. When it comes to writing that down, though, I balk. Something that surprises me. I normally am out spoken and have a tendency to dig my heels in when I believe strongly in the cause. That, and I don’t employ that censor when I write my novels.

I guess I’ve always known I’m not cut out for article writing or short stories for that matter. Opinions, even well-educated ones fueled by common sense, are overlooked with alarming ease and I don’t need that stress. As for short stories, I don’t believe in them. There is no such thing.

Someone once told me that short stories are a brief glimpse of a larger picture. That stuck with and is a detriment to my efforts in short story contests like the upcoming WCDR’s Whispered Words (Yes I plan to enter this year and already have a piece ready to go. An experiment in trying to buck my restrictions).

What happens is that the brief portal to the larger picture sucks me in and as much as I try to contain the vortex of pictures, sounds and smells, I end up with a sprawling landscape populated by people with rich history. All I wanted was a postal stamp lawn. As a result, the reader wants to/needs to know more about the characters for the story to have the same impact on them that it does on me.

To that end, I’m finding that my blogging has been diluted and is not having that impact. In essence I am throwing my dull paper clip onto an ever growing mountain of brightly coloured and sparkling paperclips.

So, any suggestions? Is there something you, as a reader would like to know or see more of? Help me be a better Blogger.

What is it that keeps you coming back? What would make you want to come back?

About Dale Long

Writing ambushed me from the shadows. At first I pushed it aside as nonsense, but luckily my wife and two girls saw the potential. Since then I have had an article published by Metroland, placed as runner-up and in the top ten in humour writing contests and various other contests. The icing on the cake was placing as runner-up in the WCDR's Wicked Words contest (130 entries) and having my entry published in the contests anthology of the same name. My entry was an exerpt from my upcoming novel, Echoes.
This entry was posted in Writing News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to To Blog or … what?

  1. Lisa Llamrei says:

    Wish I had some words of wisdom for you, but I’m struggling with the same thing myself. I’ve heard that as a professional writer, you aren’t supposed to have strong opinions, or at least you’re not supposed to express them in public, because you could lose readers. So holding back there is probably a good thing.

    • Dale Long says:

      Sigh… I know, but I don’t have to like it. Mom always said I was blessed with a silver tongue and a stubborn streak and that is a dangerous combination. It seems less like a blessing a more like a curse.

      There are so many blogs now, it is increasingly hard to stand out. Just because one is a good writer doesn’t make them successful as a blogger. With your writing, I wouldn’t worry too much about the blogging. Won’t be long before people will follow you via the dust covers of your novels and you won’t need a blog.

  2. Diane Dooley says:

    I’m not a great blogger myself, so take my advice with a big pinch of salt. The only things that motivate me to keep blogging are my interests and passions. I love books and writers and stories, so blogging about them keeps me motivated. Every now and then I get something published. I want readers and sales, so I push myself to publicize myself. Not my favorite thing, but it’s got to be done. I enjoy doing the AW blog chains, ‘cos it pushes me to exercise my writing muscles.

    Why don’t you go to your five favorite blogs and figure out why you keeping going back? What are those bloggers doing that holds your interest?

    • Dale Long says:

      That’s great advice, Diane and I have done that. I don’t follow a lot of blogs but the ones I do follow, I follow because of the author’s voice (yours included). I may or may not always like the subject being blogged about, but I like the wording or tone; I like the humour, but mostly I like that they sound real. Know what I mean? That’s what I try to do, make it feel like I’m talking directly to each person that reads it.
      My problem is that my interests are so far removed from my writing that they don’t feel like a logical fit and I struggle to find related material to blog about without repeating myself.
      Oh, and did I mention I’m very opinionated? 😉

  3. Bonnie says:

    Rants!!!! Love them!!!!!

Leave a Reply

