Pause for Station Identification

Just a quick note to apologize for the crickets.

As you know, I’m heading to Niagara Falls for the Algonkian Writers Conference this weekend. Sounds simple enough doesn’t it? Well, no. It comes with a boatload of work. I had to read four literary novels (one of which arrived late and I had to drop One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest to read it) and the first ten pages of five more modern literary novels.

Now I love reading, but this was heavy stuff. I found the reading arduous. Not my kind of books. BUT, in reading the first ten pages of the modern literary novels (all found thanks to my wife Sue and her book appetite) I found at least three I couldn’t stop at the first ten pages. Sarah’s Key, The Pilot’s Wife, and The Time Traveller’s Wife. The Kite Runner and Father Melancholy’s Daughter proved to be not as big a draw after ten pages. You never know though. The later definitely had promise.

I also found, after reading The Great Gatsby, that I think my writing style is similar to  F. Scott Fitzgerald’s. Must be the first person perspective.

Included in this homework was writing a synopsis… I could hear the groans from here. Yes, the dreaded synopsis. I’m still a new writer. I’ve never written a synopsis before and in trying, I found that doing it is the same as the work in English class that made me not like English, or Geography, or History, or… well, you get my point.

Needless to say I plowed through. I’m a sucker for punishment so not only did I do one for Echoes, I did one for Appetites as well. You want to know a secret? I like the one for Appetites better.

This just reinforces my editor’s points. Echoes needs to be simplified. It’s too… all over the place. Here’s where I shove aside ego and pull up my pants and it was easier to do this than I thought. Thank-you Ruth! Echoes will only get stronger.

So, that’s where I have been, working and stressing over this conference and shirking my blogging responsibilities.

The Author’s Voice will return thanks to two patient guests. Yes you heard that right, I have two guests lined up. A very funny and intelligent writer, Dave Jones, and a recently published writer after my own heart, paranormal, mystery, romance, Sandra Clarke.

So please bear with me, your regularly schedule programming will return after this message.

About Dale Long

Writing ambushed me from the shadows. At first I pushed it aside as nonsense, but luckily my wife and two girls saw the potential. Since then I have had an article published by Metroland, placed as runner-up and in the top ten in humour writing contests and various other contests. The icing on the cake was placing as runner-up in the WCDR's Wicked Words contest (130 entries) and having my entry published in the contests anthology of the same name. My entry was an exerpt from my upcoming novel, Echoes.
This entry was posted in The Author's Voice, Writing News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pause for Station Identification

  1. Dale, I usually give a book 50 pages before I give it the boot, especially if I paid hard earned cash for it. Looking back, I can probably identify what I don’t like about it in the first ten pages, and determine if it’s something that will carry through the whole book. And don’t worry about the waiting thing. I’m equally busy, but I think I’ll keep you waiting to find out why. lol Have fun at the Conference. Is this their first? Can’t wait to hear your reflections on the event.

    • Dale Long says:

      Sandra, now I’m curious. Signing books and Book Launches are exciting enough, but a secret, hmmm… 😉
      I’m a sucker for books. I am unable to put a book down, no matter how much I dislike it. Cough, Dacre Stoker’s Dracula the Un-Dead, cough.
      Yes, it’s their first Canadian Conference. It’s been big in New York for a couple of years. I’ll definitely be posting my ‘reflections’ good or bad.

  2. Lisa Llamrei says:

    Actually, I loved “The Kite Runner”. Couldn’t put it down. Everyone has different literary tastes, and that’s a good thing.

    Have a great time at the conference. I want to hear all about it. I’d wish you luck, but I know you don’t need it. Your talent will shine through.

    • Dale Long says:

      I never said I didn’t like it. I only meant it didn’t have as big a hook for me. But then that’s just my taste. This definitely opened up a new genre for me to read.

      I did and I have. 😉 And thank-you.

  3. Diane Dooley says:

    I’ve never been to a conference myself, so I’m hoping you’ll post about your experiences. Happy Halloween, Dale!

Leave a Reply

