From the Ashes

I’ve moaned and complained in the past how much I dislike editing, but I’ve come to realize how valuable it is. I still don’t like it, mind you.

Having a good editor and receiving valuable feedback from pitch sessions, no matter how devastating it may be at the time, are steps towards a goal, to see your story from all angles, to make sure it is fleshed out and structurally sound. I have made that transition.

The ideas have been snowballing on how to make Echoes better without sacrificing its original flavour, the very thing that made it be written in the first place.

In researching for these new additions, I am floored by how close I’ve been to actual events. I am now an even bigger fan of Mary Shelley and the writers of her time. In fact, my research uncovered a journal written by her about her travels in 1816-17, History of a six week’s tour through a part of France, Switzerland, Germany and Holland. I get to read Mary Shelley in her own voice, not the flowery literature that was popular. I also get to see from her eyes the events of the summer of 1816 as well as the landscape of that time. All of which is immensely valuable in building the opening scene of each chapter to be set during that time. It’ll all be fiction of course, but based on fact.

Needless to say I’m excited again about the book and feel that these changes will bring it to the next level, make it something that stands out and that I’ll be confident to send to the publisher and agent. Both of whom were very interested already.

It’s kind of like starting over.

I’ve also come to terms with my style of writing, at least for this book. Tom Colgan of Penguin books mentioned that it sounded like a literary thriller. I like that. Echoes is definitely character driven.

To be even considered in the same genre as the writers I am writing about means I’ve done my homework and have achieved the right tone.

About Dale Long

Writing ambushed me from the shadows. At first I pushed it aside as nonsense, but luckily my wife and two girls saw the potential. Since then I have had an article published by Metroland, placed as runner-up and in the top ten in humour writing contests and various other contests. The icing on the cake was placing as runner-up in the WCDR's Wicked Words contest (130 entries) and having my entry published in the contests anthology of the same name. My entry was an exerpt from my upcoming novel, Echoes.
This entry was posted in Writing News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to From the Ashes

  1. Lisa says:

    I’m excited, too. I can’t wait to read the results of all this fine-tuning.

  2. sjclarke says:

    I envy you your love of research, Dale. I do it, and sometimes I even enjoy it, but not to the level you seem to achieve. Can’t wait to read the book.

    • Dale Long says:

      It can be overwhelming at times, but it’s an era I can really sink my teeth into, pardon the pun. 😉
      So many great authors with a gift for language. Dickens, Poe, Shelley, Polidori, Lord Byron etc.

Leave a Reply

