Gift Ideas For The Book Lover On Your List

It’s that time of year again and I’d like to switch hats for a bit. Instead of shamelessly self-promoting, I’m going to shamelessly promote. If you have a book-lover, an avid and voracious reader, on your Christmas list that has already plowed through all the new big name releases, I’d like to offer up a few ideas from some relatively new names.

I’ve been interviewing some “on the brink” writers lately, but alas, their books aren’t out yet. Trust me, I will promote them when they do. Until that time I also know a few authors that have taken that momentous step into published author territory. What follows is a few of their books and where to find them.

It is so easy to walk into your local ice-cream parlour and order the standards, like Vanilla and Chocolate, but the counter is chock full of other interesting flavours. Time to give them a try. You never know what new treasure you’ll discover. To paraphrase a quote, “the best book you’ll read is the one you didn’t know you wanted to read.”

Paranormal Romance:

Find it online: Amazon | Barnes & Noble |

Author’s website: Aimee Laine

 

 

 

 

Sci-Fi Romance

Find it online: Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Author’s website: Diane Dooley

 

 

 

 

Mystery Romance

Find it online: Amazon.com | Amazon.ca | Chapters.ca

Author’s website: S. J. Clarke

 

 

 

 

Contemporary Young Adult

Find it online: Chapters.ca | Barnes & Noble | Amazon.ca | Amazon.com

Author’s website: Kevin Craig or Kevin Craig

 

 

 


Anthologies

Find it online: Amazon.ca | Amazon.com | Chapter.ca

Author’s website: Adele Simmons, etc

 

 

 

 

Find it online: Amazon.com |

Author’s website: Aimee Laine, etc

 

 

 

 

Find it online: Piquant Press

Author’s website:

 

 

 

 

Find it online: Piquant Press

Author’s website:

 

 

 

 

Find it online: WCDR

Author’s website: Noelle Bickle

 

 

 

 

And I would be remiss if I didn’t include myself. There are several horror shorts in this including an except from my novel Echoes.

Find it online: Lulu

Author’s website: Dale Long (you’re already here), Lisa Llamrei, Kevin Craig, etc.

 

 

Yes, there are a lot of Romance themed novels here, and while I haven’t read them all yet, I will. Not because I am a Romance novel fan, but because I am a fan of the authors and I am always willing learn a thing or two that I can apply to my horror writing.

Also, you’ll see that two of the anthologies are poetry (very hard to get published). I recommend to all writers out there to try your hand at poetry. I didn’t like poetry but as I’ve said before, it has enriched my descriptions in my prose writing.

And of course, if you want hard copies, please check with your local book store. Quite often they can order books the big chains can’t. If you are in the Durham Region, Ontario, several of the anthologies are available at Blue Heron Books.

Merry Christmas and happy reading!

P.S If I have missed your favorite “new” author, or your own, book or anthology, I am truthfully sorry. Please contact me or, better yet, add them via the comments sections. The more lip service we give these struggling writers, the better. Let’s make it impossible for the publishers and agents to ignore these voices.

About Dale Long

Writing ambushed me from the shadows. At first I pushed it aside as nonsense, but luckily my wife and two girls saw the potential. Since then I have had an article published by Metroland, placed as runner-up and in the top ten in humour writing contests and various other contests. The icing on the cake was placing as runner-up in the WCDR's Wicked Words contest (130 entries) and having my entry published in the contests anthology of the same name. My entry was an exerpt from my upcoming novel, Echoes.
This entry was posted in Writing News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Gift Ideas For The Book Lover On Your List

  1. Sandra Clarke says:

    Awe, thanks, Dale. I’ve now added a few more books to my TBR list!

  2. Sue Reynolds says:

    I’ve got some of these on my bedside table already and I’ll be adding the others! Thanks for the heads up!

    • Dale Long says:

      Be carefully, Sue. From what James said, one more book could cause an avalanche…

      BTW, Emily has Strandia on tap for when she finished the last Eragon book. Me, I have to finish sifting through Mary Shelley`s journals. Contrary to what i expected, I`m enthralled. Percy Shelley, on the other hand, is hard reading.

  3. Diane Dooley says:

    Thanks so much for including me, Dale. And, wow – those are some great and intriguing covers!

  4. What a wonderful, supportive thing for you to do, Dale. I am sure all of the authors above are dancing like sugarplums just now. And my blog post for tomorrow is going to carry on the giving. What a teasing sentence, that is!

Leave a Reply

