Christmas Reminder

Just a quick note to thank all of you for dropping by over the past year and sharing my journey and occasional rants. I’m excited by The Author’s Voice and the feedback I’ve gotten for it.

So thank-you all. I hope to keep you entertained for years to come.

This time of year can be stressful. The cleaning, entertaining, gift shopping and perceived expectations can take the shine off the season. My Christmas wish to you is that you somehow find the time or strength of will to slow down and just be. Let the moment sink in. Ditch the imposed preconceptions and give just for the joy of giving. Price matters not. What truly matters is that the gift given from the heart and not the wallet. For a gift given from the wallet is forgotten by this time next year, a gift given from the heart is cherished always.

Take a moment to sit and watch the Christmas tree. Turn out the rest of the house lights, put on your favorite carols, be it Bing Crosby, Michael Buble, Sarah Mclachlan, Nat King Cole, and remember. Most of all, remember. Remember the small things that give us joy, friends, family that is still with us and family that no longer is.  Let the Christmas spirits not burden your heart, make them part of the celebration instead.

Share some laughter with kith and kin. Say hello to friends and strangers. Make someone smile, because, ultimately, isn’t that what it’s all about? No matter what you celebrate, do it with grace and acceptance. Forget the marketing that screams at us to buy, buy, buy.

Just sit, take a deep breath, have a moment.

One final thing to keep in mind; it’s not the presents that you give, that make people your friends, it’s just your presence.

Merry Christmas! Happy Holidays!

I’ll leave you with one of my favorite songs, a holiday tradition from my house to yours; It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year by Andy Williams. I found it on YouTube posted by mcdermid12.

About Dale Long

Writing ambushed me from the shadows. At first I pushed it aside as nonsense, but luckily my wife and two girls saw the potential. Since then I have had an article published by Metroland, placed as runner-up and in the top ten in humour writing contests and various other contests. The icing on the cake was placing as runner-up in the WCDR's Wicked Words contest (130 entries) and having my entry published in the contests anthology of the same name. My entry was an exerpt from my upcoming novel, Echoes.
This entry was posted in The Word According to Dad. and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Christmas Reminder

  1. Ruth Walker says:

    Thanks Dale for sharing this – so true and so important to keep in our minds.

    May 2012 bring you more acceptances than rejections. May your pen be ever full and at the ready. May there be much to inspire you and may the Muse keep interruptions at bay so that you can follow that inspiration wherever it leads.

    Merry Christmas Dale Long to you and your. See you next year!
    Ruth

    • Dale Long says:

      Thank you Ruth!

      Yours are mighty big impressions in the snow to follow. Instead I’ll make my own, along side. They may not be as deep, but they’ll be in good company.

      Merry Christmas to you and yours as well. Into the new year and beyond. Well beyond.

  2. Lisa Llamrei says:

    Beautifully said, Dale.

    May you listen to your favourite carols all season, unless your favourites are by Justin Bieber and you are in my house.

    Merry Christmas (see – I can be politically incorrect).

  3. deepamwadds says:

    I like this: “…it’s not the presents that you give, that make people your friends, it’s just your presence.” Nice post. Good reminder. This is a laid-back unstressed Christmas spent with people that I care about, and that’s working just fine for me.Blessings to you and your lovely family, Dale.

    • Dale Long says:

      That there was an inspirational lightning strike. I don’t take credit for my creative accidents 😉

      That sounds like a great Christmas to me, Deepam! Merry Christmas to you and yours.

  4. Diane Dooley says:

    Hope you had a wonderful Christmas, Dale. Looking forward to reading your blog in 2012!

Leave a Reply

