Bell Can-India

I’m sorry, but I just can’t stomach large companies, corporations or governments and their inability to take their public into account. Seems they just can’t see past their own accountants.

A recent example? In my last phone bill, from Bell India Canada they announced, with great pleasure and a little smugness, I might add, that they were going “green”. From now on all their bills will be sent via E-Mail.

What’s that you say? That’s a good idea? In theory, yes it is, but look at your last bill. Look at the amount of pages they sent. They could have drastically reduced their own paper footprint by cutting back on the advertisements and white space they employ. I mean, three pages for one line of billing? Seriously?

Hidden in all of this supposed environmental conscious, back slapping, they also announced that if you choose, you can continue to receive a paper bill for the low, low price of $2 per month. $2 per month to pay for them to bill you? I’m sorry but maybe my house on planet commonsense is in the wrong galaxy. What about the older generation that does not and will not be going tech on us? Correct me if I’m wrong, but these older generationers account for a large number of the population. Bell’s advice to people who don’t own a computer? Buy one.

Bell’s marketing department needs to be slapped. How much business will they lose? They’ve just opened the door (wider) to rival companies that rub their hands together in greedy anticipation awaiting Bell’s next brain fart.

What are our options? Rogers? No, I’m sorry, but they wrote the hand book entitled, “How To Stay Out of Touch With Your Consumers”. More and more people are forgoing the traditional home based telephone, opting instead for cellphones as their main means of communication. For that matter, with the increased amount of content available online (i.e. TV, movie, music), Bell stands to lose even more than just phone service, Satellite, cel-phone etc). Hellooo Kodoooo!

So how does a company let itself get this far afield? How do they stop caring about their customers? Well, they start by moving their phone support off shore. So much for supporting Canadian based business. As far as I’m concerned, if all my movies and TV shows and music has to meet a CRTC imposed Canadian content guideline, then all supposed Canadian business’ should also have to adhere to that criteria.

I’m not against the people working for Bell overseas, I’m against Bell for going there in the first place.

And lastly, I would question the definition of negative billing in this instance. I would say there is a legitimate case should someone decide to make Bell’s life miserable. Afterall, turnabout is fair play. In fact here are a couple of informative links http://www.sse.gov.on.ca/mcs/en/Pages/Memberships_Negative_Billing_Options.aspx, and a definition that is in English and not government double speak http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Negative_option_billing. To quote Bugs Bunny “Gee, I’m a real stinker, ain’t I?”

What do you think? Are their gorrilla (yes I spelt it that way on purpose) tactics justified or just posturing? Do they really care or are they just smiling for the camera?

About Dale Long

Writing ambushed me from the shadows. At first I pushed it aside as nonsense, but luckily my wife and two girls saw the potential. Since then I have had an article published by Metroland, placed as runner-up and in the top ten in humour writing contests and various other contests. The icing on the cake was placing as runner-up in the WCDR's Wicked Words contest (130 entries) and having my entry published in the contests anthology of the same name. My entry was an exerpt from my upcoming novel, Echoes.
This entry was posted in The Word According to Dad. and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Bell Can-India

  1. Ah, Dale, you just make me laugh. Sadly, though, you are right on the money. When will these large companies return to customer service instead of customer screwing? Ouch! Did I say that out loud???

  2. King Lerxst says:

    Dale, what about that fee for touch tone service. Try and cancel it and you won’t succeed. There is no rotary service anymore, but that fee earns them $100,000,000.00 a year. It’s all about moving nickels from us to them. Customer service only counts when revenues drop, but the first cuts are to the balance sheet are to customer service. Who said common sense is not alive and well.

    • Dale Long says:

      Ahhh… a Rush fan? Thanks for dropping by, “King” 😉 You’re absolutely right, there is no common sense in big business or politics, for that matter, only common cents.

  3. We have monthly debates with Bell – spending a good hour each call trying to fix errors in the billing, which is why I want a paper bill – just easier to read, figure out, and shake in the air during the rage marathons with them on the other end of the line. And I agree- its nuts that they want to bill us for one.

    A few months ago, I was fed up. Decided I didn’t even care if I had phone service. Decided to cancel my bell home phone, cell phone, HD TV and internet service – all provided by Bell. When I called, I wasn’t even irate or even mad anymore, I was just resolved to end this horrid and maddening relationship. Not so easy. I was pushed through a line of customer service people, to management, to customer retention to managers. I wanted out; they didn’t want me to go.

    In the end, I stayed. But my bill is half – yes – you read right – HALF the amount, with more – yes- that’s right too – MORE features and services. It’s crazy. Half the amount for more services. That’s what makes me nuts. For now though, I still check my paper bill and call almost each month to dispute errors. I think they count on people not being tenacious.

    Sneaky bastards.

    • Dale Long says:

      Noelle, I think there are a large amount of companies out there that rely on the same thing, people not being tenacious. Too bad for them tenacious is a mild description for me 😉

  4. Diane Dooley says:

    I switched to having all my bills sent via e-mail. Felt really smug and green ’till my computer went down and it took weeks to get it fixed. Had to go to the library to pay bills, anxious the whole time for entering my financial info into a public computer. Eventually got my computer fixed and switched ’em all back to paper billing. Lesson learned.

    • Dale Long says:

      I have nothing against e-billing. I have a problem with big companies ham handed approach to business.
      I’m actually nervous about exactly the same thing happening. To be honest, I don’t trust computers. They are still too unreliable and prone to crashing and viruses and hacking and these same companies haven’t shown that they have the capacity to protect our digital information.

  5. That totally sucks! Reminds me of my kid’s orthdontist. We’re offered 3 and only 3 payment options. Plan 1–pay by credit card and tack on an X% “convenience fee”. Plan 2–Pay in installments via ACH draft and each payment has an implicit interest rate added on of X-1% and the real stinker, Plan 3. For Plan 3, if you PAY IN FULL via check, there is an X-2% “accounting fee”. Excuse me? An accounting fee to satisfy a debt before you’ve even fully earned it given son #2 will be going to appts for 1.5 yrs and thus my money in his hands is earning him and not me interest. And here’s my point, because I do have one. Just build the stinkin’ fee into the overall price for everyone and stop nickel diming us on stupid crap. And I mean YOU TOO hotels!!!

    Sorry bout that…you got me going, Dale. 🙂

    • Dale Long says:

      HAHAHA!! Go right ahead Claire, I’m an enabler. As far as I’m concerned, “Accounting fees” should be considered part of the business, not something they should be charging extra for.

Leave a Reply

