Breaking the Silence

389370_496850040385152_690159146_n

Cattarina Watching Poe

OK, yes I have been suspiciously absent. I would normally lament my lack of inspiration, wax long on the toils of everyday life, but I would be lying.

Truth of the matter is, my muse has been more talkative than a five year old after the Halloween spoils have been sorted. It is on a sugar high or extreme caffeine buzz. Whichever the case, far be it for me to complain.

My only gripe is that my muse isn’t focusing on one story. It is, instead, flinging tasty morsels from all my stories. Three Ships for Three Kings, Appetites, Echoes and a new collaborative story that is building faster than a brush fire in August. Tentatively titled Left Behind. It’s a Sci-Fi, apocalyptic, dystopian quest. But that is all I can say about it other than that I am working with three other incredibly imaginative writers that also fall under the spell of intuitive writing. Which means, essentially, four brains working as one. Exciting.

On the flip side, I really haven’t had much to rant/blog about. The list of author’s I want to interview on the Author’s Voice is growing and I have a few updates to do. Most notably, Lisa Llamrei launched her first novel, Reflections of the Gods, A book I had the pleasure of seeing in it’s developement. Ruth Walker also launched her novel, Living Underground, a book I have actually had a chance to read and thouroughly enjoyed… after I was done. It made me think and I like to compare it to The Great Gatsby in that it made me think long after I had finished. As well, I had a chance to finish Sandra Clarke‘s, Mind Over Matter.

So, when the Author’s Voice returns, I will be reviewing the three books mentioned above and encouraging reader to request a local author’s section in the book stores so they can see the talent right under their noses. Like What Blue Heron Books is doing.

And finally, I have Connie Di Pietro-Sparacino, Kate Arms-Roberts and Elaine Cougler coming in to talk about their books. As well as a few special guests I am actively working on.

So please accept my most humble apologies. It seems the cat has run off with my tongue and my fingers. Worry not, it’s only a flesh wound…

And now for something completely different.

Off to kill that damn Vorpal kitty.

Stay tuned.

About Dale Long

Writing ambushed me from the shadows. At first I pushed it aside as nonsense, but luckily my wife and two girls saw the potential. Since then I have had an article published by Metroland, placed as runner-up and in the top ten in humour writing contests and various other contests. The icing on the cake was placing as runner-up in the WCDR's Wicked Words contest (130 entries) and having my entry published in the contests anthology of the same name. My entry was an exerpt from my upcoming novel, Echoes.
This entry was posted in The Author's Voice and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Breaking the Silence

  1. Lisa Mae says:

    Looking forward to it.

  2. Hey, Dale! Never apologize about missing your blog because you’re writing up a storm. Way to go. I’m so proud of you! Can’t wait to read the results. And thanks for linking to my blog with a promise of what’s to come. I have also launched a new website where readers can get a wee taste of The Loyalist’s Wife which is almost out of the racing gate. www dot elainecougler dot com

Leave a Reply

