Confession Time

DSC04886I have a confession to make. While everyone is making New Year’s resolutions and trying to stick to them, I’m going to confess.

Forgive me, dear readers, for I have committed the ultimate writerly sin; I have not been reading. There I said it. And now that I’ve said it, I realize it’s not entirely true. I have been reading. I have read a number of new works by up and coming writers. Writers brave enough to trust me with the infamous “shitty first drafts”. Keep an eye out for Kate Arms Roberts: The Red Oak, Connie Di Pietro-Sparacino: Daughter of God, Samantha Banik: The Pirate and Tobin Elliott: Cycle of the Aphotic World trilogy!

I have also been reading my own writing over and over and over again…

Normally I am a voracious reader. I would stay up late into the night, trapped between the pages of a good book. But since I started writing and since the i-products have insinuated themselves into my nightly routine with Netflix, I have barely read.

I am trying to get myself back to no electronics at night. (Keep your minds out of the gutter, people, this is a kid friendly show). I have a few books I have started that I need to finish and a number of books I really want to read.

First I have a few books by writers I know who write in genres outside of my normal reading field of comfort. Let me get this up front, I don’t read Romance (any variety thereof) or Historical (see previous). Now before you jump all over me, I will admit that I let the bad stereotypes of those genre taint my perspective. Because of that, and because I write Horror, which is a melting pot of all the genres, I feel it is my best interest to read outside my comfort zone. In the interest of research and because I know these writers and they do good work.

So on my reading list is, in no particular order;

Kevin Craig: Burn Baby, Burn Baby. I’ve read his book, Summer on Fire and if this is YA, then I like YA. And I know Kevin. He’s the most humble writer you’d ever meet.

Claire Gillian: The Pure. I’ve actually started this and while it is labelled a romance, it is not heavy-handed and the main character is instantly likeable and relatable. While I don’t like comparisons, if you like Janet Evanovich, you’ll like Claire. She is one of the writers I meet through Absolute Write and she can write dark and humour. Sometimes at the same time.

Diane Dooley: Blue Galaxy. This one may be too Sci-fi romance for my tastes but I also know Diane from Absolute Write, and she can write. She is another romance writer that can write dark. I love her darker stuff. So I will read this.

Elaine Cougler: The Loyalist’s Wife. Another book I am hesitant on because of the genre, but another one I will read anyway. I meet Elaine at the Algonkian Writer’s conference. Are all writers really nice people or is it only the ones I know?

And, of course, on the list are the books in the genre’s I’m more familiar with, The Original Folk and Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm, The Divine Comedy, Faust, Paradise Lost. All of which I have read bits and pieces of. And my standard gotos like Edgar Allen Poe, Mary Shelley and Charles Dickens.

Then there are the anthologies. Chicken Soup for the Soul: Christmas in Canada: 101 Stories about the Joy and Wonder of the Holidays, WCDR’s Short Short Fiction Renaissance, Tomes of Terror. Filled with writers I know.

And I have a number of series I need to catch up on. Terry Goodkind: Sword of Truth. Dan Brown: Inferno. (Don’t judge me, I actually liked Angels and Demons). Andrew Pyper: The Damned. Dean Koontz: Odd series.

There are so many more and I’m afraid my night table is not rated for the weight that sits on it.

So that’s my confession and I suppose my resolution.

I’m excited. This feels like it is going to be a productive writing year. A building on the momentum of this past year. Here are a few pictures of what I was up to and why I wasn’t blogging.

Muskoka Novel MarathonThe Muskoka Novel Marathon July 2014.
Three Ships for Three Kings was written here.

BookapaloozaMy daughter and the Horror Maestro, Tobin Elliott
at BookapaloozaGTA November 2014.

Bookaplaooza Samples

Blue Heron Books ChristmasBlue Heron Books Advent Calendar December 2014
The Good King was day 7!

So now you are up to speed and I feel better for my confession.

Happy New Year everyone!

 

About Dale Long

Writing ambushed me from the shadows. At first I pushed it aside as nonsense, but luckily my wife and two girls saw the potential. Since then I have had an article published by Metroland, placed as runner-up and in the top ten in humour writing contests and various other contests. The icing on the cake was placing as runner-up in the WCDR's Wicked Words contest (130 entries) and having my entry published in the contests anthology of the same name. My entry was an exerpt from my upcoming novel, Echoes.
This entry was posted in Writing News and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Confession Time

  1. Anonymous says:

    I completely understand what you’re saying. I use to spend many evenings reading and looking at the clock its only 1:30 am, just one more chapter. Now its where’s my phone I would like to play a game, wonder whats happening on FB, Twitter, Instagram. Electronics are killing the younger generation. I make my kids sit and read and all I hear are moans and groans, give them an i- anything and you don’t hear a word. I think I might follow in your foot steps and use your resolution as mine.

  2. That’s funny/odd – I don’t like historical or romance reads either. I think Jane Eyre did me in, starting in high school. And into my fourth decade I’m allowed to bypass Jane Eyre-ish novels as I’ve tried once a decade to read it and threw it down every single time. But, I do love a good chick flick. You do have some romance-y type books on your list, so if you do recommend one, please let me know. Have fun reading!

  3. Hey, Dale! I’m so glad you had the courage to say it out loud. My own reading has suffered with all the reading involved in writing and publishing my Loyalist series. On Goodreads I’ve vowed to read 24 books in 2015. I can’t promise none of them will be how-to writing books but most will be new and delicious fiction. I’m almost finished 2 books already and it’s only January 9 so I’m off to a good start.
    Thanks so much for including my first book in your list. I know you’ll like the suspense and fast-paced story about John and Lucy, maybe even enough to go on to book two in the trilogy, The Loyalist’s Luck.
    All good things reading, writing and otherwise in 2015.
    Oh, and I’m off to take my iPad OFF my night table! 🙂

  4. samoore777 says:

    Hey Dale! Always great insight when you speak, here, at Words of the Season, on Twitter at #1lineWed. FYI, I nominated you for a Versatile Blogger Award! Check it out here:
    http://samooreblog.blogspot.ca/

Leave a Reply

