The March Hare

Slide2-e1455154235948

Words of the Season

March is a busy month for me normally.

Birthdays.

Yep, enough said, right? But this month it is particularly busy.

Wednesday night, March 9, 2016, I will be a co-host/MC with Tobin Elliott, for Writers Community of Durham Region’s Words of the Season at La Rosa Ristorante, 3050 Garden Street, Unit 102, Whitby ON.

12718123_10156548335940521_7956812542093064911_n

Words of the Season Hosts

Don’t know what that is? A bunch of writers get together and read excerpts of their writing, be it poetry, prose, or song. It is free to the public (you will have to buy your own meals and drinks though) and a great way to discover some new writers or simply to hear some established ones. Definitely worth a visit. I mean, how many events can you go to, nowadays, that are free?

Ont-writers-conference-logo

On top of that, Tobin Elliott and I are gearing up for the Ontario Writer’s Conference. There we will be teaching a course called Close Encounters: The Art of Writing Collaboratively. If you are a writer, or are trying to get into writing, this is the place to be. Not only will you get the opportunity to mingle amongst your kind, in various stages of progress, but you can catch sight of the elusive literary agent and even a publisher. Not to mention all the great workshops, including our own (shameless plug), where you can advance your skill.

And then to top off an already busy year, I will be participating in the Muskoka Novel Marathon again this year.

MNM

This year marks 15 years for this event. 15 years of writers supporting readers through funding of YMCA Muskoka/Simcoe. Last year was a banner year and we hope to break that record this year. So pop over to the page and help these writers support literacy.

And now onto news about my own writing.

Last year was a bumpy year for me personally and it had an effect on my creativity. While I did participate in last year’s Muskoka Novel Marathon, thank you to all of you that supported me, I wasn’t able to fall into the zone. Yes I wrote, but it was forced and clunky. Nothing I could salvage. I had a better plan of attack last year than I did the year before but just couldn’t follow through.

They say that writing is a solitary job, and it can be, but it doesn’t have to be. It is not a prerequisite. I am thankful that I have a group of writers that not only believe in my writing but push me to write. It is because of their examples that I always strive to be a better writer.

That group pushed me. They wouldn’t let me give up on writing. They made me write when I didn’t feel like it and it is because of them that I continued, in dribs and drabs mind you, but still continued.

Thank you.

And thank you to you readers who keep dropping in to read. I know I haven’t updated my blog in a while. I have been busier on my Facebook page and Twitter because it requires less scripting when my writing brain didn’t want to script. There I post little fun bits and pictures. Not enough for a blog, but enough to want to share. So stop by there.

And a final note. My wife’s treatment are done. We are now in that grey area that all surviving cancer victims go. It is by no stretch “back to normal”. The spectre of the cancer is always there. We have to keep on watch.

My wife showed remarkable strength, in my eyes. And strength is sometimes measured in tears. But through it all she remained positive and she, above all else, pushed me to keep writing. She inspires me.

Onwords and upwords right?

See what I did there?

Keep your pen on the page, keep reading and keep imagining.

Dale.

 

 

About Dale Long

Writing ambushed me from the shadows. At first I pushed it aside as nonsense, but luckily my wife and two girls saw the potential. Since then I have had an article published by Metroland, placed as runner-up and in the top ten in humour writing contests and various other contests. The icing on the cake was placing as runner-up in the WCDR's Wicked Words contest (130 entries) and having my entry published in the contests anthology of the same name. My entry was an exerpt from my upcoming novel, Echoes.
This entry was posted in The Author's Voice, The Word According to Dad., Writing News and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The March Hare

  1. Lori Twining says:

    Dale, congratulations and good luck on all your writing endeavors… you are quite a writing machine (and a busy man). I love reading your work, so keep writing. I will be attending the Ontario Writers’ Conference, so I hope to see you and Tobin there. Hide, if you see me coming, as I’ll be looking for hugs! Unfortunately, I have to miss the Muskoka Novel Marathon, but I’ll keep in touch through social media that weekend, cheering you on and making sure your butt is in the chair… writing, not talking or eating. Lastly, I want to send big hugs to that amazing beautiful wife of yours! She’s one in a million, which makes you a LUCKY MAN! 🙂

Leave a Reply

